anything but


This is the damage a hoarder can do

anything but

to hoarders, addicts and all those mentally dysfunctional people who have the right to systematically destroy everyone else’s life around them yet no one has the no right to stop them until, maybe, after the havoc and destruction is committed

refuse, feces
peanut butter, noodles
tear drenched pillow
physical contact

moldy dishes
cracker crumbs
fly paper
straight up Vodka

copy machine panel
kibble bags
loose carpet fiber
entitlement check

gastric volcano
intestinal flat worms
cerebral hornets
obligations to be met

*********************

Written for:

 

Write2Day–A Love Affair with Words

We were asked to dip into an addiction or a few of your choice, or enter the mind of an addict, and see what happens.

Also posted on:

The Gooseberry Garden
Poetry Picnic Week 28: These Are A Few of My Favorite Things (A Repost)

Photo Credit:  Bat-Ami Gordin  © 2009 all rights reserved, credit if you use it, please. If interested in vector graphics form, please contact me.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on March 17, 2012, in Poetry, The Gooseberry Garden, write2Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I think maybe your perception is that addiction is voluntary…And before it became an addiction maybe it was. I wonder by your intro if you feel as if your hands are tied in a fundamental way and if they weren’t some real change could happen?

    • People who live around addicts do have their hands tied. An entire family has to deal with their childish behavior, yet society gives them the rights of adults. For example, A family could try to keep that person from driving, but they will drive anyway, and each time they get in the car, their level of irresponsibility, the level at which they are upset and not paying attention is equivalent to a DUI, but you can’t stop them. They can be throwing things around the house, but if the cops don’t see them act that way, they won’t take them away. They are good at lying. A whole family, or battery of people can be witness to them acting crazy, but they will not be taken in unless the cop sees them behave that way. The amazing thing is that they can control themselves, when they want to, but they have to act out for the people around them all the time, and the people around them have to put up with them or throw them out of their lives. When they do, someone else compassionate comes around, and gets suckered into the cycle until they throw them out. These people feel they have no friends, because they don’t. No one wants to hug them, and yet, they still won’t go seek the proper care, and no one with any sense of rationality and logic can put them into the care they need.

      • If it was as easy as just getting the “proper care” I don’t think we would be having this discussion. I asked about weather you felt hand tied because some of the words in your poem and your reply clenched it for me. I have empathy for you and what must have happened to you. Either from personally experiencing it, or watching it happen to people you know. I have experienced this coin from both sides, and I have to say that addiction is cunning. I have come to understand that while active in my addiction I was insane, as such I was not truly responsible for my actions. But in order to stay sober and sane I had to truly take responsibility for those same actions. not an easy thing for my family to go through, and I try to make their lives easier in any way I can to repay them for the love and tolerance they showed me during my sickness. Thank you for your poem, and I hope to see you at my site again.

  2. Amazing poem sir…nice work..,

  3. You sum up the horrors of addiction. Bad for those around them, but worse for the addicted.

  4. Wow… this is a pissed off poem, and done so well.
    I was enraged and repulsed and longing to help.
    Great stuff!

  5. that’s kinda awful – the picture and addiction i meant.

  6. Wow! This poem is smiting. “hoarders” are particularly repulsive form of addicts, to be sure, and they often go by easily.
    And the poem seems to be very angry. I hope the strong emotion already subsided.
    Best, M.

  7. great emotion! This is wonderfully written and I can really feel the frustration.

Leave a comment