Sonnet XXXIX


Galactic bubble with an embryonic star least 8 times the mass of the Sun nestled in its shell. This star could one day be one of the brightest in the galaxy.

Sonnet XXXIX

Calculating the probabilities
that our world is constructed uniquely ―
intoxicating possibilities
that others will cross our way obliquely.
Let’s ponder how life might exist elsewhere,
it’s sensible! Where are the right pools
for life to begin, so temperate and fair?
Astrobiologists do not have those rules
to explain the riddles of creation,
or the imprint of initial cosmos.
Astronauts query, in the space station:
they study the origins of homos.
The knowledge they uncover is sublime,
to feed dreams we will share for all of time.

************************

Photo credit:  European Space Agency

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Poetry, Sonnets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Love this…and the photo too is captivating to me.
    I love what you wrote…
    it made such sense with a feeling of mystery.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. Great post!

  3. It does seem so scientifically possible.
    It’s just, my human heart doesn’t want it to be–
    I want us to be special!
    Thoughtful words.

  4. Great post. Thanks for visiting.

    My entry.

  5. Much to think about in this post, both visual and literary. Much to enjoy, too.

  6. The news from the astronomers is equal to the unfolding maps of neuroscience — in our heads and in the skies are great and greater dreams! Bring it on. – Brendan

  7. Always good to see beauty through the eyes of science

  8. cool poem …thank you x x

  9. love this shot and the verse also…

  10. Love the picture, love the poem. Love space. Makes me feel very small

  11. The knowledge they uncover is sublime,
    to feed dreams we will share for all of time….just love this tammy…uncovering knowledge..feeding dreams…sounds good to me..

  12. poemsofhateandhope

    Love your themes! Asking huge questions here – about life elsewhere in the universe…where do those pools exist? Like you- I kind of think that there MUST be some life elsewhere – the probability surely must be very high- either that or we’re all a figment of our own imaginations- see what you’ve done? Got me asking crazy questions! This has that ‘shakesperean’ quality to it but with your modern twist. Very nice indeed

  13. Great flow today at your show and yeah there is life out there somewhere, we aren’t all so rare.

  14. i def think there is life out there…i dont think we are that unique and it will only be a matter of time before they discover us…if they have not already you know…i love the study of the stars though…

  15. I like how we’re left hanging in this, suspended in dreams

  16. Mystical magical poem. WoW!

  17. O, I absolutely love this…because space, the heavens…is such a mystery to most of us, and you underscore that here. I’m all tenterhooks here, waiting for the mystery to reveal itslef. Great job, Tammy!

  18. An enchanting sonnet full of intrigue & unanswerable questions 🙂

  19. I think, i read this before and I still love it and the enthusiasm you write with on this one, of being okay with not having to know it all.
    http://leah-jamielynn.typepad.com/blog/2012/04/only-god-knows.html

  20. This time and age the skies present the last frontier. Yes, zongrik! A lot of mysteries about them. The sonnet gives a vivid picture. Great write.

    Hank

  21. Amazing! Both pic and sonnet.

  22. Your tone is celebratory and inspiring, your sonnet accomplished. I love that you used astrobiologist!

  23. Intriguing poem. The possibilities are as endless as the universe.

  24. I really enjoy your poems of astronomical ideas. The concept of more and space, in general, are strongly built upon. thoroughly enjoyed the read. thanks

  25. As always, it is courageous to attempt a classical structure. Have you really done XXXIX sonnets? I am impressed!

  26. You see, itbwas a poem like this I wanted to use on my prompt. Love the poem, the sonnet turned to the scientific endeavor! Excellent.

Leave a comment