Sonnet XXIV


Rare Green Flash From the Moon

Sonnet XXIV

Light from the moon hits Earth’s dense atmosphere
in the low opaque areas that are wet.
Then the apparent lunar photosphere
emits green light as Luna starts to set.
The grey moon seems orange in the dark sky,
then a rare flash appears out of nowhere,
as a giant prism paints verdant die
and a blazing mirage seems to hang there.
Lunar soil releases ionic
streams as it is hit by the solar winds.
Then it wears a crown that seems demonic
’til the moon in the sky sets and rescinds.
The air helps bend light into frequencies
like weaving bright threads of embroideries.

**********************

I just found out about this phenomenon today on the New Scientist page . Then I wrote this sonnet.

Digg Newsrooms also has some interesting comments.

Posted on:

The Poetry Pantry Is Now Open! – #85

Also posted on:

Prompt 217: Verdant

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 29, 2011, in One Single Impression, Poetry, Poetry Pantry is Now Open, Sonnets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Such a pretty poem and an interesting inspiration. I like it. It’s unique.

  2. Initially I was unsure, as this type of writing style is normally not my preference; however, I was drawn back and read it again, then again and yet again. I am glad I did, as I enjoyed it very much; in fact, I wish to thank you for opening my eyes. Wonderful indeed! Cheers, David (aka @RefugeInsomniac)

  3. If anyone can establish space and science poetry as a genre, it’s you, Tammy! Beautiful work here.

  4. nice..sounds like an interesting phenomenon..need to check out your link…lot of magic in the moon always..

  5. your poetry is very unique… it’s like looking into a start filled sky at night with a telescope.. great work!

  6. love the last two lines, nice image.

  7. Nicely measured and rhymed sonnet, with an exceptional and original subject, which it paints so well the reader can see the green. Thanks for educating as well as entertaining me.

  8. Being Cancerian, I’ve always loved the moon and water. They are my lures and enchant.
    This is very interesting and very nice writing.

  9. Very descriptive……. and new to me… I think if I had looked up and saw this happen, I might have thought my eyes were playing tricks on me…. Sonnets are beautiful… is this your 24th one?

  10. Very good write, I really like reading your work. Always very good. Thanks

  11. Very nice and new to me…. I will have to check out the link.

  12. lovely words to describe this occurrence, specially these lines:

    Then it wears a crown that seems demonic
    ’til the moon in the sky sets and rescinds.

  13. Time and time again you really bridge space and poetry as one, another verse that was greatly done!

  14. I’ll never see it. According to the article a green flash off the setting sun is relatively common, but I find it very hard to catch, and this is even harder to see.

  15. Wow what an imagery and I like the way you write it, as is but it works so well.

  16. Another fun read, Z. I learn as I’m entertained. Informed while I’m inspired.

  17. Very artistic and scientific at once.

  18. Always a fascinating trip in the universe with you; colors, sights, flashes, soaring to heights and visions unknown, unseen on Earth. Thank you for sharing this. Well done!

  19. I did not know of this phenomena. You’ve written of this beautifully and now I am curious to see what this is about. Thanks for your poem.

  20. this poem is simply lovely and so full of inspiration such a wonderful read
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/11/the-day-of-the-dead/

  21. cool. very scientific-laden verbiage. explanatory with visuals. good job with the rhyme and rhythm. this is a very interesting sonnet capped by the rhyming couplet.
    very, very neat.
    thanks for sharing & good job.

  22. Science in a sonnet! Not many would tackle that. Commendable that you did. More so that you succeeded brilliantly.

  23. I like the last two,they`re so discriptive of what it all means.

  24. A great combination of science and art!

  25. Who knew the moon too had a green flash — and you’ve created a sizzlin’ sonnet on it!

  26. Vivid poetry. I enjoyed every line.

Leave a comment