Between Buildings


Between Buildings

From the city alley
appraise a sliver of sky.
Streams of clouds
progress in currents.

Through windows,
saxophones
and treble voices
compete for bandwidth.

In the city alley
the superhero waits
to explode/to save
the world from itself.

************************

 Posted on:

The Poetry Pantry Is Now Open! – #75

Also posted on:

poets-rally-week-63

His organization is Fragile Oasis  and he’s also on facebook.

Again, I won’t usually be writing free form poetry on this blog, unless it’s there for a reason. It looks like I might actually have a periodic reason: these “One Stop Poetry Challenges.” This time I’m writing in response to the Photography of Scott Wyden.”  The website is:

http://onestoppoetry.com/2011/05/sunday-photography-interview-scott-wyden-poetry-challenge.html

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on May 28, 2011, in One Stop Poetry, Poetry, Poetry Pantry is Now Open, Thursday Poetry Rally and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. i like it…i like how you mix what is going on around before coming to the superhero…the singing and sax are nice touches…used to watch Heroes as well, so well played…

    fyi…your link over at OSP goes to your bird of prey poem….

    • Thanks for noticing. I realized this at about 3:30 AM, my time. It hit me why Dustus made a comment on my old poem. I thought that the URL was a default to my page, but it was a remnant of the previous poem.

      Glad that another Heros fan saw what I saw. 🙂

      Thanks for the comment.

  2. That second stanza is marvelous!

  3. love that image of a superhero ‘to save the world from itself’ ~ hiding ready to spring ~ loved it ~ Lib @Libithina

  4. love your blog,

    come join our poetry picnic week 9 today,
    first time participants can share 1 to 3 random poems.

    Old poems or poems unrelated to our theme are welcome.

    Hope to see you in.

    Best!
    xoxox

  5. I feel like a piece of laundry hanging between the huge buildings soaking up all this poem!!!!

  6. I like your poem…the thing that struck me about the picture is that the clouds could look like the outline of a gigantic eye looking down apon the alley looking for me….

    Go for the free form, I will always be a champion of the free form!

  7. Nice one, the claustrophobia of the big city comes through.

Leave a comment