Windsurfer


Windsurfer © Jean-Michel Leclercq

Windsurfer

In tropical dawn,
in sultry dusk,
I rendezvous
with waves.

Sweaty,
in the finest neoprene,
I dominate
a kingdom
I shall never throne.

Rinse and hold.
Taste the salt.
No break to my adrenaline.
Spray spitting from the barrel.
I carve kinetic fluid.

In the food chain,
I devour waves.

I take refuge
in the cycles
of lunar forces.
Always restless
in utter wetness.

************************

Posted on:

poets-rally-week-65

I found this on   Jean-Michel Leclercq’s Flicker Site  ©

Also, I have never windsurfed nor regular surfed in my life. I did take sailing lessons and was American Red Cross certified in basic sailing.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on July 6, 2011, in Thursday Poetry Rally, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. the voice in the piece charges forward with no fear and takes on the waves the same way…well done, RS

  2. Love your poems, you are very gifted and I hope there’s more to come 🙂

  3. Excellent poetry~with all the vivid imagery~feeling and substance…. I tasted the salt!! 🙂

  4. It felt like I was right there…thank you 🙂

  5. safe surfing, breath taking imagery.

    Invite you to write something based on the image you see,
    Hope all is well.
    Thanks for the attention.
    Appreciate your input.
    Cheers.

  6. Love it can almost feel the power of the waves …thank you so much for sharing x x

  7. “I carve kinetic fluid.” – beautiful line.

  8. Nice words expressing, love it!

  9. You capture it so well, I could almost feel myself windsurfing.

  10. Surfing sounds like fun, I hear from your words

  11. Love this! A visceral, heart pounding experience, which is at the same time strangely peaceful.

  12. Reading this was a rush! Great writing! It was almost like being there!

  13. I almost feel as if I were the one surfing ;D Lovely!

  14. Love the first verse … rendezvous with waves – something very appealing about that.

Leave a comment