Dysfunctional


Rihanna - Her Beat Up Words

Dysfunctional

It’s nothing but a thankless job,
giving you my tears.
I mope the evening away
wondrin’ where you are.
Then I hear your ring
your voice,
your needs.

I’m the artist who could
showcase you:
a framed work of joy.
To  break from your reins
sweats out  my mind.
It’s like  my own work,
my will
my time.

Encased in a holo cave
echo of your drumming heart.
So then, one day,
No more.
I won’t be there.
Don’t count
on me calling back.

***********************

Written for:

 

Write2Day–Labor Day Prompt

Also posted on:

The Gooseberry Garden

Poetry Picnic Week 30: Doubts, Fears, Inhibitions and Hesitations

Picture credit: mammakaze

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on September 4, 2011, in Monday Morning Writing Prompt, The Gooseberry Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. A sad account of an all too often cruel behavior by someone
    who is supposed to be in love with you.

    Here’s my take on the prompt :
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/201//09/02/sailing-into-the-midnight-sky/

    Ciao,
    Isadora

  2. This brings home the vastness of the gulf between the potential of relationship, and how that potential can be betrayed. It’s almost infinitely sad.

  3. sadly all too real…and the struggle to break free of the cycle…

  4. “I’m an artist who could showcase you…” How different life could be if relationships were nurtured with respect and care. This is a sad commentary on what can happen and the photo of Rihanna is a stark reminder. Too many women don’t leave, though.

  5. this is very dark and powerful – great strong imagery you use – love “It’s nothing but a thankless job,
    giving you my tears.”
    What a way to start off. 🙂

  6. Powerful…thanks for sharing your thoughts and words.
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  7. Very Nice writing up, with an amazing Imagination!

  8. This is an all-too-common scenario which is justified by the “love” factor … and it’s sad that so many women remain in this type of relationship … quite often it’s because they have no place else to go !

    http://writer-in-transit.co.za/work-work-work/

  9. To be brave is harder then one could imagine… This was a darn good poem with reality pouring out from it..

  10. Thought-provoking. Love the strength of the last line.

  11. Wow… very thought provoking.

  12. Having personally been in this situation, I can safely say that you’ve described it all perfectly. Powerful.

    http://halfwaybetweenthegutter.wordpress.com/2012/04/08/smudge/

  13. Encased in a holo cave
    echo of your drumming heart

    Nicely done…

  14. Sometimes love is thankless – thought provoking indeed

    Anna :o]

  15. Powerful and provocative – makes you really think about what it is to be in that situation.

  16. Love is giving without expecting return. However, the return should never be sorrow. An extremely thought provoking piece. Let’s hope it provokes us to be kind.

Leave a comment