Nanotubes



MIT chemical engineers built tiny channels out of carbon nanotubes that could someday end up being sensitive detectors.

Nanotubes

strong and lightweight
adamantine
polydispersive materials

zigzagged or chiral
rolled this way and that
sheets stronger than steel

wires and tubes
wedge into the void
vivified pixels

single or multi-walled
morphing wings
valuable for future design

templated and fabricated
strategically explored
potential applications

conversion or diversion
probes that interconnect
radiation sources

thermodynamic and conductive
energy storage
field emission displays

hollow or thin
allotropic cylinders
extraordinary nanostructure

electrons and vectors
in every direction
zero dimensional atoms

*******************************

This is my first post in my column NanoMuse, posted on:

Photo Credit: Industrial Safety and Security Source

Also posted on:

Also Posted on:


Thursdays Poets’ Rally Week 61 (January 25 – February 3, 2012)

Also posted on:

N is for a Novel Letter

Photo Credit:  EvolutionaryParenting – Facebook Page

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on November 29, 2011, in ABC wednesday, Nanotechnology, Nanotechnology Now, Poetry, Thursday Poetry Rally and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Nanotechnology is changing the future. There will be good advances as well as things we should be concerned with. Your poem is delightful and fun while it has a serious side. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Well, that was well over my head. Nice structure though. Sorry I cannot add more than that.

  3. I love the marriage of art and science and although I don’t understand (have never been exposed to) nanotechnology the words, flow and images work. Congrats on your column. Brilliant!

  4. I went back and reread it and, yes, I do get the idea! See what happens if you apply yourself?

  5. Congratulations on the column/ poem!

  6. Nanotechnology scares the crap out of me, but then, bats scare me too – and I understand them and know they have value. There’s something about the idea of nanorobots whizzing around… must have been some cheesy sci-fi movie or something.

    NOW – about the poetry, I loved it. As intricate as each delicate movement required to construct a nano-anything. Science isn’t just about precision – it’s an art.

    Oh – I’m also scared of clowns, but I have NO idea why they do what they do, they just creep me out!! Thanks so much for a lovely read. Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/repairers-of-the-breach/

  7. \What did you do; swallow a nano dictionary?
    I must admit I did not Google all the terms, but it flowed, it entertained and it amazed.
    What more can I say? Good stuff!

  8. i wont lie…you went way over my feeble brain in this but it was no less fascinating…and your flow top notch…nice catching up with you today…

  9. thanks for joining us with this interesting shot! very beautiful 🙂

  10. Really enjoyed the poem! Great photo also! And as someone else said your use of words flowed beautifully and was an amazing ride!

  11. I got lost in some of the words but really liked the feel of the poem.
    Enjoyed the poem just for the fun of it.
    Peace
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  12. Haha, a very diefferent sort of tube-sock there. Nicely done 🙂

  13. Science and technology are as one in this new age. Nano technology is going to be amazing with what they will do. Thinking about how far we’ve come since windows 95 was introduced, the mind boggles as to what the technology will be like in 10 years time, let alone 20 or 30. I wish I could live for another 100 years just to see how much the world will have changed from now to then, I expect we would feel a bit like fish out of water.
    Another amazing and, very clever write of combining technology/science with creative writing. 🙂

  14. It was nice to see a poem with a different feel to it. I enjoyed it. My 17 year old loved it!!! Keep writing you have a gift!

  15. Well, I for one, am totally impressed!

    Leslie
    abcw team

  16. There’s a nano plant in town, and it’s open the public for part of Nanovember.

  17. These chemical engineers always amaze me with things they build. “Morphing wings” now that poetic! (visiting from ABC Wednesday)

  18. Neat and colorful!

    Nursing to Nuclear Medicine
    Rose, ABC Wednesday Team

Leave a comment