cliffhanger


I Want to be Free

cliffhanger

engulfed
daredevil moon.
sneaky shadows.
sterile darkness.

forlorn
stormy sea eyes.
wild wind screams.
exuberant misplaced tears.

accommodated
recycled melodrama.
theatrical mesa.
fiery opus.

generously
recapitulated visions.
affected fatalism.
missing hangman.

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Written for:

Imaginary Gardens

Also posted on:

Open Link Night ~ Week 33

Fireblossom Friday #3—Temptation!

Also posted on:

Also posted on:

C is for……

Photo credit:  Metin Demiraylay

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on February 4, 2012, in ABC wednesday, D’verse Poets Pub, imaginary garden with real toads, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. Have I told you I love your minimalist approach with words…and just the right words.
    Will probably tell you again !
    Like this very much.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. I like these words best:

    recycled melodrama
    theatrical mesa
    fiery opus

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.com/2012/02/temptation.html

  3. A cliffhanger indeed. Freedom is a state of mind, isn’t it.

  4. I especially like daredevil moon and:

    recycled melodrama
    theatrical mesa
    fiery opus

  5. I like this. “Stormy sea eyes” is gorgeous.

  6. theatrical mesa – that sums the photograph up all by itself!

  7. Love this, Tammy! The haiga is gorgeous:))

  8. Wonderful poem. I’m a minimalist myself, so I really appreciate what you’ve accomplished with so few words.

  9. I love Metin Demiraylay’s photographs, and it looks like you found this one inspiring! Thanks for being part of FBF.

  10. ah, the daredevil moon! this is brilliant! LOVE it!

  11. I’ve had my share of exuberant misplaced tears. I love your way with words.

  12. Missing hangman! Very original and appropriate for temptation. K.

  13. Lovely write! I love exuberant misplaced tears!

  14. tempting fate…the hang man awaits…def not one for recycling when it comes to melodrama…it becomes an endless loop

  15. recapitulated visions — that’s a poem in itself, seeing something, seeing something else, gaining a little wisdom to bring back to what you first saw

  16. Nice work. Love the missing hangman.

  17. And here I thought you were sending me some place good, geez…LOL

    Great job, you used just the right amount of words to make the verse flowing flawlessly, and yeah freedom is all a state of mind, as there is always someone nipping at your behind.

  18. nice..you captured the mood of the pic very well..

  19. Oh, I love sneaky shadows – what a marvelous notion! May the hangman remain missing 🙂

  20. succinct ….and yes kind of mystical too …lovely thank you x

  21. Oh, excellent! I just love that old dare devil moon!

  22. Great write, Zongrik! Very vivid!

  23. Enjoyed this so much. I read it twice in order to make sure I got all the symbolism and metaphor. Really good write.

  24. Your verses are alays so sharp and pithy. Immediacy and in the moment. Have you ever read an essay titled, “What Is It Like to Be a Bat?” That is an interesting take on this view of seeing the world as other entities might.

  25. daredevil moon and missing hangman were my favs. great kicker.

  26. They act together and act separately. Each stanza having its own dynamic. Interesting that the first three begin with verbs, the last a noun. It would change it dramatically of course, and not necessarily for the better to begin with one of the verbs you used; so I presume the structure was purposeful. I like the theatrical quality to the piece overall. It mirrors the illustration in its starkness and it underscores it with its brevity. I found it most interesting, in fact quite novel. Like all your work, purposeful and intelligent.

  27. well penned write, a very pointed expression ~ Rose

  28. hypercryptical

    Missing hangman says it all! Very clever write!

    Anna :o]

  29. The poem and photo say it all.
    very poignant.

  30. Wow!

    Leslie
    abcw team

  31. talk about close to the edge!
    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  32. Only in my dream I have experienced cliffhanger.

    COINS
    Rose, ABC Wednesday Team

Leave a comment