four animal dedication senryu


four animal dedication senryu

Rescue Worker and Canine Rescuer

despite hands of death
appalling emergencies
utter allegiance

Pit Bull and Feline Friend Celebrate their Love

hypothetical
assumptive hostility
devotion prevails

Chimp Feeding Tiger Cub

delightful dedication
instinctive adoration
selfless sacrifice

Boise firefighter Dana Brown rescues a cat from an apartment fire

warriors behold
duty includes compassion
life preservation

*******************

Written for:

February 21st – Theme: Dedication

Also Posted on:

the imaginary garden with real toads

Calling All Toads

Photos credits:

1)  a place to love dogs

2) PitBullSharky on facebook

3) flixya

4) Orlando Sentinel

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on February 20, 2012, in Animal, Apes, cats, Dogs, imaginary garden with real toads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Very nice set…dedication to helping and caring for animals is indeed a worthwhile endeavor ~

    The happy valentine pic makes me smile ~

  2. A wonderful set of haiku on dedication….where would we be without the animals we love

  3. So wonderful. I’m such a helpless animal love and anything to promote their well-being makes me happy.

  4. Beautifull, brought tears…

  5. I love that first one!

  6. Love this! Wonderful work! Thank you zongrik! /Lotta

  7. Such wonderful Haiku to the photos and prompt: Dedication. The first and last are my favorites, but all four hit the spot.
    Thanks.
    The first one will dwell dwell in my heart and soul for quite a while.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  8. I think it was Gandhi maybe who said a society should be judged on how well it treats its weakest members … your ‘kus and these examples have us looking better than usual, I think.

  9. Beautiful. Without our animal companions, we would be lessened.

  10. These Haiku are very special. And the pictures are so heartwarming.

  11. This is so sweet! Animals are so dedicated and ask so little of us. It is humbling.

  12. You hit a home run with this.. excellent set of haiku..each one fabulously well thought.. thanks Zongrik..

  13. Animals are the masters of dedication ~~ nicely done, zongrik!!
    Here is my Day 21.

  14. Awww… wonderful. They show us such trust, faith, and love. These are all so lovely.

  15. Reminds me of an exhibition I saw in the Imperial War Museum in London about animals who served in conflicts – cried my way around it. Touching and thought-provoking – just like your poems

  16. I loved all your dedication zongrik… Thanks for blessing…!

  17. Loved these! The dedication and unconditional love that animals are capable of should serve as a lesson to us all.

  18. “excellent”! the last pic just gets to the heart.

Leave a comment