withered wanderer


Ella's Garden

withered wanderer

withered wanderer
traversing
interwoven seasons
nourishing summer rain
sipped off
rarest petals
scattered colors
of autumnal equinox
coolness gathers
whitecapped rapids
fleeting blossoms
live without tenacity

***************************

Written for:

the imaginary garden with real toads

Sunday Mini-Challenge

Photo Credit: Ella

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on March 14, 2012, in imaginary garden with real toads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Very nicely done! I love the phrasing of this, flows so well. I actually do think those blossoms can show some tenacity; they always come back year after year.

  2. Great take on the pic, and I love the title and start, withered wanderer can take this in many directions, most of the ones I imagine probably not the ones you intended but thats what its about I guess. Great stuff.

    • Funny you should say that. In actuality, I started writing withered wanderer for the prompt for this poem: depth of field then i realized that the rest of the poem went in the wrong direction. I tried to salvage it, by writing a new stanza, a few more lines. The second stanza fit the pic for depth of field perfectly. I read the two together, and they didn’t belong together. I realized I had two poems.

      That was very perceptive of you. WOW!!

      • You know about sunshine on dogs asses…yeah, just blind luck I think. Funny you should say that about two poems. Because alot of my prose style poetry has a refrain of some sort, I have this professor from ASU (I don’t go there but we occasionally drink together says every one of my poems need to be broken into two poems….I hate that.

  3. Wow, I loved the flow and the imagery~ You did surprise me, but I loved that you did~
    It was beautiful…I have to read it again! 😀

  4. The title didn’t seem to fit the poem until the end. I’m all about tenacity, even whilst wandering through the labyrinth of my life… The only truly tenacious flower is the dandelion, and I do love them dearly. (Odd girl out, I know!) Oh, and the “ditch lilies” that proliferate in the sewers of the Northeast US. Well done, Z! Peace, Amy

    Irony In The Air

Leave a comment