senryu of blues and honesty


Giant Blue Spider on Cobweb

senryu of blues and honesty

i sing my own blues
i walk in people’s stories
their honest passion

grey clouds through blue sky
moving rapidly today
winds, variable

the world-wide cobweb
in my uncomfortable brain
can’t banish the blues

giant blue spider
also seeks some honesty
acceptance and love

*******************

Written for:

Prompt #111 – blue

Also written for:

challenge 311 – “honesty”

Image Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin  © 2012 all rights reserved, credit if you use it, please. If interested in vector graphics form, please contact me.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on March 18, 2012, in Haiku Heights, Sunday Scribblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. that is great! i picture you standing at a mic in a dim cafe spouting your bluesy poetry =)

  2. Beautifully done! 🙂
    All blues..

  3. Walk and sing the blues,
    Saw a spider spin a web to the music of King Crimson, sold out show so I listened in the parking lot, as close as I could get to the music. And watched this spider and as the show was almost over, the web was almost complete, in time for the on-coming crowds getting to their cars, but the spiders work was not in vain it caught my attention…
    love u2, honest…

  4. Well done Zongrik. I can feel the blues in your nice senryu. Thank you for sharing.

  5. A well done sequence of “singing the blues”.

  6. Love it…
    thanks.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  7. Very nice set…I specially like the third one….Have a good day ~

  8. I really like that line “I walk in people’s stories” — so fitting for a blue senryu !

  9. Clever blues in all, zongrik! There’s always a ‘giant blue spider’ somewhere to ensure things move in a right direction. Great haiku, Ma’am!

    Hank

  10. The world wide cob-web. Ha! Excellent. I love it.

  11. Nicely done — my favorite is the first!!

  12. I like this one a lot:

    the world-wide cobweb
    in my uncomfortable brain
    can’t banish the blues

  13. Excellent. I love first one for its honesty.

    i sing my own blues
    i walk in people’s stories
    their honest passion

  14. Thanks for sharing such a piece…….I think it runs deep than the first read. I read it many times and many things came to mind. And thanks for telling me to take away word verification.

  15. All spiders need to be loved..I loved these blues..they have a wonderful rhythm and pace..Jae

  16. Love the “world-wide cobweb,” more dead than alive. Yet a “live” spiderweb not only touches all it meets but sends out sympathetic vibrations throughout when touches. Of course, there is the eaten by the spider part, but… Great take on the prompt! Amy

    Honest Thy Ploughs (Sun Scribblings, Poetic Bloomings)

  17. Beautifully done. Love the last set!

  18. Beautiful and heartfelt set. Spiders, those lovely creatures, do so much work for us and certainly need more love.

  19. magicalmysticalteacher

    Honesty shines through that first stanza. To sing one’s one blues takes courage.

    Feathered Sky of Blue

  20. the 3rd stanza is both true and melancholic…

Leave a comment