two playing senryu


A bagpipe-playing oyster, and other wonders of the deep by Mark Garro

two playing senryu

act of making pearls
musical bagpipe oyster
forms jewels as he plays

mysterious band
angelic and devilish
plays feverishly

**********************************

Written for:

Prompt #120 – play

Image Credit: super punch

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 7, 2012, in Haiku Heights and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. unique..and beautifully expressed, the creation of pearls..nice one.. 🙂

  2. Need a ♥ button for this one!
    Thank you for the playful take on the word.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  3. I have never heard bagpipes being played under water. An interesting idea.

  4. I really enjoyed this haiku. Very entertaining and magical.

  5. Nice set…I specially like the second one ~

    My share: http://everydayamazin.blogspot.ca/2012/04/play.html

  6. Very cool and creative image.

  7. Delightful ~ can hear the musical spirit playing ~ thanks, namaste, ^_^

  8. Beautiful musical delight in both haiku! Love the idea of an oyster playing the music of pearls!

  9. Both of these carry great iamges. thanks.

  10. Lovely haiku for both, zongrik! Pearls have value and good to look at, so are your haiku!

    Hank

  11. First one is a jewel of a haiku… thanks!!!

  12. beautiful set 🙂

  13. beautiful set 🙂 thanks

  14. Chortles..this is an hilarious image.Andy Sewina will like this He plays the bagpipes:)

  15. I love the way you use metaphor in these.

  16. i love the images you create here. 🙂

  17. Love the idea of oyster being a bagpipe … Very nice, zongrik!! 😀

    This is my Day 8 ~~ Waiting Their Turn.

  18. magicalmysticalteacher

    How can I get that band to play for me?

    The Christ Child at Play

  19. very nice and the pic too,had to look at it for quite a while.

  20. beautifully penned…loved the lines…
    “mysterious band
    angelic and devilish
    plays feverishly”…
    cheers… 🙂

Leave a comment