four memorial day senryu


four memorial day senryu

Memorializing

alone at his grave
none to memorialize
i represent all

Boston Common 2012

one flag for every
Massachusetts citizen
who died in battle

Loving Defenders

loving defender
milk of human kindness
the barking army

At Navy Seal Jon Tumilson’s funeral

ultimate devotion
Military Working Dogs
photo says it all

*******************

Written for:

Memorial Day–Poetry Prompt

Also posted on:

the imaginary garden with real toads

Open Link Monday

Image credit: Euclid Public Library

Photos credits: All from facebook.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on May 28, 2012, in Animal, D’verse Poets Pub, Dogs, imaginary garden with real toads, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 49 Comments.

  1. These are lovely, a beautiful tribute. Thank you.

  2. Beautiful writing and photos. The one with the dog in front of the casket is soooooo heartbreaking.

  3. beautiful tribute–especially like #2

  4. Thank you for that, I needed to know that someone doesn’t just think it’s just another 3 day weekend and bbq’s…

  5. Vivid, even without the pics, but I needed them, especially the one of the soldier carrying the dog and the one of the dog with the coffin. Pow! Your Haiku work.

  6. hobgoblin2011

    Extremely powerful. Love that you used the emotionally driven Senryu form and the pictures hammer down the emotions extremely well. Great piece. Thanks

  7. must admit I would have forgotten about the animals who also served and deserve to be remembered too. First rate job pairing pictures with words and then crafting senryus. Thank you.

  8. Very touching. Beautiful!!!!

  9. Beautiful…the picture of the dog near the casket is specially touching ~

  10. Beautiful and touching Memorial Day tributes! Thank you for sharing!

  11. These got to me…especially the last one with the photo.

  12. Beautiful. I love the approach. The rolling pictures with poetic stanza below as the subject is as fresh as the powerful message your poem conveys.

  13. “loving defender..the barking army”

    and the image of the casket and dog still mourning the loss –

    beautifully put together, extremely moving, thank you

  14. wow that last one is just stirring and the frist though is my fav…thank you for representing…and them as well….

  15. You got me with the last one. An actual audible oh, no released from my lips. So sad. Your collection of haiku are stirring.

  16. Such special tributes, the pictures and are they senyru? I think animal mourning are the most evocative and expressive of all of us – good capture. Thanks for posting these.

    IN PRAISE OF THOSE WHO FOUGHT

  17. I enjoyed reading this with the pics and what a resume, totally impressed. The one who had none, as in no one visiting makes me sad.Nice going.

  18. What a lovely group of tribute verse!

  19. Your post says it all!

  20. “alone at his grave
    none to memorialize
    i represent all”

    Loved it.

  21. Awesome tribute to all who serve and all who have fallen.

  22. all lovely verses, zongrik.
    especially the first one.

  23. Very touching – the dogs especially. K.

  24. A fitting tribute to the fallen, Tammy! Been said by many others but I feel I should say it. The dog by the casket is so touching.

    Hank

  25. heartbreaking, heartbreaking….we forget about our canine friends in these wars. I am glad you didn’t.

    Lovely and fitting senryu.

    Lady Nyo

  26. Its so easy, amongst all the human suffering, to forget the animals we share this planet with. In some ways, what happened to animals is worse than what happened to humans, as animals dont wage wars, they just suffer the consequences.
    As an animal lover, this hit a raw nerve. Its a fitting tribute to those who serve.

  27. The senryu work very well together, and the overall effect grows with each one.

  28. Really moving tribute.

  29. Great tribute in every way, poor dogs, they go through a lot more than humans in some ways. Oh and the pic will be used one day at my bay.

  30. Powerful senryus! Touching and the photos just add the the sadness of it all. Very nicely presented.

  31. Real World Mom

    Wonderful tribute. Thank you for including the dogs.

  32. Just lovely. Thank you for sharing.

  33. These are beautiful and I truly appreciate your remembrance of those who serve. Thank your stopping by my blog as well 🙂
    Jacki@redheadedmommy.com

  34. Pictures can be powerful. Thanks for the visit.

    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com

  35. Wow, beautiful reminder and absolutely pulls at the heart strings!

  36. All those photos made me teary…especially the one with the dog lying by the coffin. Beautiful. Do you live in MA? I live in NH about 50 mins from Boston.

    Paula
    lifeasweknowitbypaula.blogspot.com

  37. Great tribute to memorialize our fallen heroes and what spectacular photos! Simply beautiful!

  38. What a lovely tribute! We so often forget the four legged soldiers defending our feedoms also. Thank you for including them!

  39. I noticed your BostonCommon photo is all :). Wondered if you lived close by. I think its cool to find another blogger who lives nearby 🙂

  40. Oh, Zonrik. This post has jerked a few tears from me. Your words and those honorary snaps. I applaude teh above comments, too! Your faithful dog snap totally touches me.

  41. A wonderful and deep tribute! Have a good weekend.

  42. Made me cry…and to think that they are just consider utilities. Like an extra pair of gloves or goggles:( It has really touched me how the soldiers that are handlers are doing all in their power to try to bring them back home and give them proper care. They are heroes.

  43. What a beautiful tribute..

    Visiting for WW- hope you can stop by:)

    http://www.cassandrasminicorner.com/2012/05/priceless-my-princess.html

  44. Beautiful tribute ….

  45. very good post,makes a tear come to my eyes and how proud i` am to support our soldiers.

  46. This is a marvelous tribute post…the words and photos are exquisite together.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

Leave a comment