incidental rag


Full Body Sweater

Full Body Sweater

incidental rag

assembeled yarn
helps me unwind

embraced in warmth
i live inside a sleeve

worn like a stain
an incidental rag

no one complains
or recollects my face

i am a heaping pile
washing might defile

inside my hood
stains of endless tears

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Written for:

Magpie Tales – Mag 151

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 13, 2013, in Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. embraced in warmth
    i live inside a sleeve

    worn like a stain

    … this is great.

  2. an incidental rag…i rather like that phrase…it captures it well…and that no one remembers the face, or seems to care…ugh….hard reality….

  3. this is quite lonely and sad….very well done.

  4. Awww…that’s melancholy and very good.

  5. Thoughtful, and rather moving, take on the prompt…

  6. Though your poem is mostly sad, you use warm words in it. This gives it a tension that is quite meaningful. Good job!

  7. yes. living inside our winter sweaters – so true. and sometimes hiding, yes. excellent.

  8. Hiding away in a voluminess garment for comfort – what an interetsing take on the prompt. I lke the ‘yarny’ reference to unwinding too.

  9. poor little butterfly 😦

  10. … and way too many of us (folks who overdid food consumption during the holidays) welcome the roomy garments we can wear while we shed pounds. I thought your poem was great!

  11. Evokes a sense of melancholy and isolation. Nice job.

    =)

  12. Exactly. “No one will recollect my face.” The attraction of invisibiltiy of which I drew a similar conclusion. I like this!

  13. Such a powerful container, gday Zong ‘

  14. “assembeled yarn
    helps me unwind
    .
    embraced in warmth
    i live inside a sleeve”
    Love these words…then the turn for sadness…excellent write,

    my mind had thought of comfort, and that I’d like the solitude…but I can see that it’s also a perfect place to mourn daily losses.

    Thank you.

  15. Very good,Tammy and so sad&lonely and yet so secure.

Leave a comment