Dance to the Moulin Rouge


Henri Toulouse-Lautrec:. Dance to the Moulin Rouge

Henri Toulouse-Lautrec:. Dance to the Moulin Rouge

Dance to the Moulin Rouge

summer breezes kiss her curls.
unlatched emotions — tension unfurled.
a sudden scuttle. she towers
to the middle of the floor —
music called her to gambol.

the men rubbernecking.
her dress plays it safely.
impulsive. exploitative.
pathetic ridicule and gossip.
chirps hum to merry prancing.

graceful butterfly. witch queen.
dance tornado. plastic sculpture.
dress variable in shape.
ribbons and skin so silky.
next, she’ll kick off those shoes.

**************************

Hear this on Sound Cloud

**************************

Written for:

Magpie Tales – Mag 179

Also posted on:

Open Link Night ~ 107

 

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on August 11, 2013, in D’verse Poets Pub, Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Wonderful wordsmithery….graceful butterfly…witch queen, and everything in between….a pleasure to imbibe, this one, found the tone just right..thank you,

  2. Sharp and discerning; well done.

  3. Shape shifting enchantress of the waves ….

  4. … ‘music called her to gambol’ ~~ great line in a great poem! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  5. Wham bam thank you ma’am for this frolicsome romp which left me Up,Up,Up !!!

  6. I want to see her kick off those shoes…

  7. ribbons and skin so silky.
    next, she’ll kick off those shoes

    The ending is the clincher, Tammy! The high water to all the frolicking and the kicking and may even be the tumbling. Lots of movements in this. Love it!

    Hank

  8. Indeed, kick off the shoes…and maybe forget the full stops in future, to concentrate on Capital Letters for a change?

  9. Energetic and entertaining.

  10. So very alive.

    Great choice of art work as well.

  11. ha – i’ve never been there but you captured the energy well

  12. witch or not, it looks like fun

  13. How can anyone resist her?

  14. Ah, reminds me of my maternal grandmother from Marseille! I always imagined she was quite the entertainer in her younger day.

  15. Love entering the world of Lautrec with you. It’s as if we were there.

  16. Kickin’ off the shoes – now that’s real dancin’ … smiles

  17. She definitely must have been SOME dancer. And will be even moreso when she kicks off those shoes!!

  18. ha. nice energy in this….you def put us right there in the moment…i would def be drawn into a bit of dancing fun….

  19. I can hear the rustling of her skirts…

  20. If her feet had of stank, would the crowd have minded?

  21. great rhythm, i can feel the dance

  22. I like how you described – specially dance tornado ~

  23. A free spirit in the land of dance..

  24. as ever
    the sound of your voice opens me up to the poetry
    breathing a REAL sense of character into the well chosen words and
    image impasto.

    TLT is my man, I have hung out at his height in many of the same dives
    and imagined what he felt as he saw the whirl and the kicks of pretty whores
    and daring tricks – Paris classics! WHAT A HEADY MIX!!! 🙂

  25. This works well for me. The slightly staccato rhythms seem just right.

  26. I feel like dancing. Wonderful capturing of an incredible painting.

  27. Lovely! Love the dancing poetry for such a great painting!

  28. I love the image of that dancing.. and I can see myself drooling watching the witch queen.

  29. exciting write… she’s explosively passionate… or at least that is the vibe she’s giving off… or being perceived… so much mystery in perception.

  30. There is a lot in this painting. You’ve seen it all . . . and said it succinctly.
    Cheers!

  31. so energetic, the aura of dance very well captured! 🙂

  32. Makes me feel like I`m right there.nice

Leave a comment