Three Desert Snow Haiku


Desert Snow

Three Desert Snow Haiku

beyond the desert
mountains capped with virgin snow
rare combination

desert mountain high
snow way past the horizon
lizards gaze in awe

new desert landscape
delighful Joshua Trees
winter came today

*********************

Written for:
Take Our Banner

Also Posted on:
V is for VANCOUVER

Also posted on:

haiku my heart -postcards from paradise

Also posted on:

February 19th – Theme or Word: Snow

Photo Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin  © 2011 all rights reserved, credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on December 18, 2011, in ABC wednesday, haiku my heart, I Saw Sunday, Poetry, The Haiku Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Wonderful writing! Thanks so much for sharing these pieces with I Saw Sunday. x

  2. desert and snow – somehow I never pictured the two together 🙂
    lovely writing, Bat-Ami

  3. I enjoyed the last two of your haiku and other poems on your blog.

  4. Oops, I said that wrong. I enjoyed the last two of your haiku the most and other poems on your blog. Sometimes my fingers are slower than my intentions. Sorry. What I liked about the last two haiku was the strength of the last lines: The lizards gazed and the snow came. It always delights me when haiku have an action statement that summarizes the rest of the poem and, at the same time, contains a little surprise.

  5. I guess you can play vortex in the desert too, though I presume you want to preserve you water and have minimal movement.

  6. Wonderful contribution to ABC Wednesday – thanks so much.
    Denise ABC Team

  7. Wonderful three haikus, beautiful picture.

  8. loved the last the best!

  9. I have been looking at your blog; you are VERY creative!!! Thanks for stopping in at my place. It has been a joy experiencing yours.

  10. To view desert and snowy mountain and shadows in one view space must be amazing! Lovely photo and descriptive haiku!

  11. very cool writing and great picture(mojave)?

  12. Totally unusual combination! hot and cold! love it and the way you describe it, beautiful!

  13. I love Joshua trees – and what an amazing snow sight!
    Love lizards gaze in awe!

  14. Excellently seasonal words.

  15. so happy to share your beauty of nature, a soft pure blanket of snow.

  16. Wonderful haiku for an amazing photograph.

  17. Gorgeous photograph. I miss the high desert with snow capped mountains in the distance. Your haiku fits perfectly.

  18. magicalmysticalteacher

    Those poor lizards really don’t know what to do with snow, do they? 🙂

    Spirit of the Snows

  19. Your haiku are exquisite. You put a lot of energy into them, a great deal of artistic creativity and it shows. Just lovely.
    Noelle

  20. wow…that’s quite a combo on snow and desert indeed! quite a visually impact…

    Cheers,
    My Third Eye

  21. The first one is Perfect! And the image is too good! 🙂

  22. Sand and snow is such a remarkable combination! Definitely worth a few haiku of tribute! Delightful!

  23. Wow…really rare combination…I never knew there would be snow near to dessert….Awesome imagination 🙂

    Seasons ~ Avatars of mother nature

  24. Love the image – lizards gaze in awe.

  25. Along with the lizards, I am awestruck! 🙂

    Winter

  26. I enjoyed reading … thank you for sharing your seasonal perspective. I know it is possible, just had not thought of snow and desert before now.

    Day 19

  27. I used to live in Tucson and we saw this phenomenon. A ski slope visible from our desert location. Hmm. A very odd sensation.

  28. Amazing Haiku set.. thanks for writing…

Leave a comment