shifting gears senryu


As its growth stalls in a bad economy, NASCAR changes gears.

shifting gears senryu

moment of beauty
proliferates happiness
lasts forevermore

happiness shifting
into the highest of gears
doing it as team

*****************

Written for:

Sensational Haiku Wednesday

This week’s theme is: Happiness

Photo credit:  USA Today

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 11, 2012, in Sensational Haiku Wednesday, You Know that Blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. vroommmm…Life is a team sport

  2. Gentlemen … ladies ~~~ start your engines!!

  3. I like the idea of working as a team to achieve happiness!

  4. How wonderful to find group happiness!

  5. Life and teams. Definitely a route to happiness.

  6. Great metaphor…well done! Vb

  7. Lovely ~ well done ~ very meaningful ~thanks, namaste, ^_^

  8. Happiness is often dependant on working as a team. Great haiku!

  9. The ability to get along with others does make life easier! Reminds me of a funny comment a first grader asked me when I put the kids in teams for a group assignment at the nature center: “Do we have to think as a group?”

    • working as a group and thinking as a group are quite different. those that don’t know the difference either will not live with free minds, or will never work well in groups.

  10. Nicely put ~~ my husband is a huge Nascar fan!!
    Dig In and Dig Out

  11. there is something magic that happens when a team truly comes together…

    hey, heads up…the prompt at dverse today is science in poetry…and i thought of you…smiles.

  12. Ah, another race junkie! Not for me, but I know many others who share the passion so I can relate. Definitely relate to the teamwork, and what happens when everyone comes together! Well done!

    • i’m not a race junkie at all. looked for a good teamwork pic, and i loved the colors, and the helmets and composition of picture. it fitted what i was saying.

Leave a comment