duty to challenge


WTO protests in Seattle in 1999 - Police on Duty

duty to challenge

fulfillment hidden by withdrawal symptoms
addiction gradually becomes
cumbersome, extreme irrelevance

emotion exceeds zero, then,
divides into work, sleep, play
only on instinctive levels

positive thinking circuits destroyed
new themes reluctantly assumed
obligation to care withheld

poison bubbles in the gullet
personality collapses
sense of duty doesn’t last long

as the brain suspends in a game world
of uncomfortable losses
failure cannot be forgiven

duty to one’s depressions
resurrects thick intermediate layers
in the transition barrel

arguments cause least of all irritation
frustration-burnout abandons in self-consciousness
for the sake of neutrality, challenge the government

*****************************

Written for:

Poetics: Duty Calls!

Prompt, by ManicDDaily, was to write a poem about duty or obligation.

Photo credit: The Boston Phoenix

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 21, 2012, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. i think if we sit by idle, we should accept whatever we are given…we vote them in and they disregard us once they are there…and the only ones that will change it are the people…if they really want to…

  2. Ha…I think you know how this piece resonated with me.

  3. ” emotion exceeds zero, then,
    divides into work, sleep, play ”

    Ah, the three components of life.

    And then there was….

    “failure cannot be forgiven”

    But sometimes I do think we have to forgive in order to move on.
    Your poem was rich in images and definitely made me think.

  4. A powerful write, that promotes thought. Well done!

    My Wheels Don’t Turn

  5. We are all only as free as the powers that be allow us to be. There is really no true freedom. Nice write Tammy.

  6. Yep…we need to challenge the big guns every now and then…strong write!

  7. To me, this resounded more on the addiction side. I understand the government aspect, but much spoke to any addiction–the depression, the poison in the gullet, the sense of duty (to stop) not lasting, the brain’s insistence on the game. So interesting. k>

  8. Excellent job. love the imagery here. last 3 stanzas I found very strong. thanks

  9. I agree with Karin… a very passionate piece.

  10. This is awesome; I love these lines:

    “fulfillment hidden by withdrawal symptoms”
    “emotion exceeds zero”
    “duty to one’s depressions resurrects thick intermediate layers”

    Sounds like motherhood to me.

    Did you mean “losses”?

    • thanks. i fixed it.

      didn’t think of it as motherhood, but i did feel this way when my kids were growing up, and i don’t feel this way anymore.

  11. Bravo !
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  12. I think we need to…if not, how will they know our needs and concerns are met?

  13. you had so many facts in this that i feel like i lost a debate. This was a great read girl.
    http://leah-jamielynn.typepad.com

  14. the good thing in switzerland is that the people have more power to participate in the process and influence the decisions made by the politicians…

  15. We can challenge them, but only by replacing them with more look-a-likes.

  16. The whys and wherefores that relate to the powers that be, resonates big for me , zongrik! The politicians think once they’re in we owe them a living.They get a shock when we dump them at the next round. They shouldn’t! great write!

    Hank

  17. This has an urgency to it, almost a communique from the front, like telegraphed lines pulled from the intense center of a war to begin or already underway. Pretty cool, really.

  18. This is great – your imagea at the top set me up to read this a military duty them but your words go so much deeper and look at so many of those extraneous things which exact our duty. Right on the mark!

  19. Duty and responsibilities the price for freedom and rights

  20. This is and intriguing piece. We have become so complacent that we will always have this way of life. With that complacency, I think there is an assumption of (and addiction to) entitlement without obligation. I hope we can “get clean” before it’s too late.

  21. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my
    followers! Wonderful blog and brilliant design and style.

Leave a comment