Tenaciously As Conundrum


Elton John Flying at Piano

Tenaciously As Conundrum

Beckon philosophy with music―
No conclusion to confusion
A genius cherishes cacophony
Tenaciously as conundrum.

Does the trepidation of adoration
Make a sophist any different,
That the shocking digital bolts of melody
Reverberating in a modern gallery of art.

Thus only one species will invisibly endure,
To query the Sphinx with ironic distain;
To nibble on narcotics with a golden tooth―
Contemptuously drilling with discipline.

*****************************

Written for:

Poetics: ‘OUR Music’

Photo credit: marcel d wilson

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on May 5, 2012, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. smiles…i like the noise and def cling to it and the conundrums…lol…drill on but the drugs they will burn you out before you get there, trust me…smiles…though far too many succumb….

  2. Love the photo you chose! And conundrum has always been a favorite word!

  3. haha…very cool pic..and there are some of those that nibble on narcotics with a golden tooth…

  4. poemsofhateandhope

    Something here about madness and the creative soul….I certainly think that some genius people have created some genius music, and that some uncreative people have made some very very bad music….this also speaks about the chaotic life that musicians (and artists) can lead- often mixing with the drugs….too many drugs sometimes! Great poem – your word choices are electric!

  5. hobgoblin2011

    Oh, wow, you joined philosophy with song…I just love that. The last stanza, how good did that come out. Great write. Thanks

  6. A very talented man is Elton John. I like music, don’t like noise. Love conundrums!

  7. I’d say Elton John rocked the world in more ways than one! And your poem ‘rocked’ as well!

  8. Cool picture and that last stanza rocks it for me ~

  9. very cool indeed, nice write

  10. Nothing more tenacious than a conundrum, unless it’s a bass line. Interesting as always, Tammy.

  11. This is a thought provoking write – love the last stanza especially

  12. My cousin use to love Elton John when I was little. Love the picture and you cleverness in this poem.

  13. Nice flowing poem, great use of assonance and occasional rhyme. You chose an awesome picture!

  14. Great write, I love answers to conundrums.

  15. I particularly liked the clever word play in your poem.

  16. digital bolts’ ‘Reverberating in a modern gallery of art’. deafening throbbing sound – really tuned into this – great piece – Love Lib

  17. Very interesting, contrasting statements that pull us into the conundrum perhaps that is music. I like the way this leaves any supposed answer hanging the air, somto speak, mingling with the chords of a song just played.

  18. Follow the yellow brick road…. eternally beckoning, never doing anything so banal as answering – that’s music.

  19. Wonderful poem. And I love that Elton John picture!

  20. cool poem …and fab picture thanks as always for a great share xx

Leave a comment