The River


Stainforth River Irwell

The River

dead slag sinks
joins scraps
sinks deeper
into infinite coma
stupidly waits
for hibernators
first spring drink

river’s quit trying to become sky
river’s gonna try to reach the sea

darkness: prefered
summer: too long
storms: relentless

river’s quit trying to become sky
river’s gonna try to reach sea

**************************

Written for:

Magpie Tales – Mag 116

Also written for:

#317 – Storm

Image Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin  © 2012 all rights reserved, cre

Photo Credit:  R.A.D. Stainforth  Black Dogs on Picassa

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on May 6, 2012, in Magpie Tales, Poetry, Sunday Scribblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Your a clever writer, I have the most respect of your views and the way you express your creativity

  2. You always have such a unique take on the prompts… and I really like the refrain.

  3. And ne’er the twain shall meet. Lovely.
    No, I haven’t ever watched Being human. I thought it was just another Vampire show, and am just about all ‘vampired’ out now…LOL

  4. Ohhhh…I do home river reaches the sea…………
    really I do…….

  5. “river’s quit trying to become sky
    river’s gonna try to reach sea”

    What a sad refrain. I like the idea of the river becoming sky.

  6. Tammy, this haunts me because of the ways in which our planet is changing. Even my humble hometown of Binghamton, NY, at the confluence of two rivers, has had THREE “100-year floods” (a flood that should happen once every hundred years) in FIVE YEARS. This is what you poem brought me – water is flattening, from glaciers to ice caps… yet you captured it in a beautiful way. How DO you do that?! In admiration, Amy

    Wish Upon a Star

  7. very thoughtful poem…it could be a song with the refrain. thankyou

  8. Those who have ever lived by a river in crisis can relate to your sad refrain … what an interesting take on this prompt … I will come back to read your thought again …

  9. A great piece of writing. This is so pertinent in Australia where after a number of dry seasons the mighty river Murray died up and failed to reach the sea. OK it’s a dry country but we are irrigating too much cotton, wheat, vines and other fruit in parched country. 2011 gave us a good winter rain so now the irrigators are clamoring for entitlements again!

    About your question about the fish hook symbol in my piece, the answer is yes!

  10. I love your words and the way dance together…excellent writing

  11. This is very well done. It is one of my favorites of yours, actually. There is that sense of mix-up with rivers some time – beautiful too, but this is a very thoughtful take on it. K.

  12. clever for sure….the river mirrors the sky, drains into the ocean and dillutes itself…always becoming something else….like your refrain

  13. Excellent refrain…a sad, but well-told tale. Vb

  14. Interesting take on a river prompt – I agree with the comments that this could be a song with the refrain

  15. This was exceptional. I like your style of writing this poem!

  16. I like the chorus…almost like a spiritual.

    =)

  17. Excellent refrain…there is a lot of wisdom there.

  18. Tess Kincaid

    I like the notion of the river wanting to be the sky…

  19. I like a river that knows its place..good idea to head for the sea! Great imagination..

  20. 1emeraldcity

    This is almost a song, Tammy…clever and sad.

  21. A restless and interesting river , an interesting place to explore that is always moving, lovely. I felt the pain of it all, this constant moving . Life.

  22. A river, a body of moving and flowing water. You captured it very well, Tammy!

    Hank

  23. Really beautiful. It should be a song.

  24. I really like this…the cadence of the words and
    the twice repeated

    ” river’s quit trying to become sky
    river’s gonna try to reach sea ”

    Just like the words and how they sound silently and outloud.

    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

Leave a comment