First Rose


First Rose

First Rose

First Rose

first bud of spring
squint at her glory —
spotless, purified
ready to be deflowed
(dare I)
sacrifice her chastity
so that no neighbor will
sniff, lick, or covet
with pleasure.

soul
sound
soil
grounded love.
harmonious silence.

I cannot dismiss this debut:
a diary of yellowed redolence,
nonchalant simplicity.
people of the white rose.
queen of the red rose.
I am of the yellow rose.
the first, my only, soft, unique
blossomed rose, ready to go.

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Written for:

Just Say What You Don’t Mean: Irony

Photo Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin  © 2013 all rights reserved, credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 5, 2013, in D’verse Poets Pub, Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Gosh the neighbours are a bit of a worry:)I will now always look at yellow roses in a differnt light so to speak.

  2. This is an exquisite bouquet of words!

  3. I buy flowers, but seldom snip the ones I grow. Am I irrational, sentimental or reverent? .

  4. I’ve been eyeing up the climbing rose flowers that are starting to creep over my neighbour’s fence, so this captured my feeling well.

  5. Very sweet.. I would let it be.. I almost never pick flowers in my garden. Sit and enjoy the smell the look. Loved the connection to a sweet debutant

  6. very cool..i love roses..mostly the “wild” ones..have tons of ramblers in the garden, one even climbing up our pear tree and covering it in pink…always makes me breathless..

  7. Beautiful poem, beautiful rose!

  8. Roses – like your poem – simply add to the endless beauty of the world.

  9. ha. oh my….strong sensual undertones in that opening gambit…

  10. What a beautiful rose, your words capture the wonder and desire for this first sign of spring ~

  11. There are many mind-snagging facets to a rose–one of the most ornate forms of reproductive potential, and you catch a lot of light glinting off the various faces here–I especially liked “a diary of yellowed redolence…’ which seems to give continuity to the whole ephemeral process.

  12. A colleague recommended me to your resource. Thank you for
    the information.

  13. This is wonderful, I was really unsure how to use those 3 words in a way I liked but you have done it!

  14. Sorry to be so late to comment, Tammy. (Golfed this morning!) Isn’t it wonderful when the first rose appears. I think it’s okay to take her inside and keep her for yourself…after all. I love yellow roses, too. I love them all, though. I hope your weather is as nice as ours.

  15. I like the sensuality implied in the poem. Nice piece.

  16. Great opener…lovely tribute to the flower that brings so many joy…..uh…sexy too!

  17. Sensuous & beautiful.

  18. Beautiful bloom and powerful poem!

    ♥ aquariann
    Featured Photo: White Blossom Tree in Spring

  19. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different
    website and thought I should check things out. I like
    what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking into your
    web page again.

Leave a comment