My Brain is a Cheap Gadget That Spins


Cheap Gadget that Spins

Cheap Gadget that Spins

My Brain is a Cheap Gadget That Spins

I am from the ten commandments
to be taken senselessly, with finger language:
energy overshadows bewilderment.
I am from feasts and head pats
where polished round people were obediently sober.
I am from a place where tea was clouded by milk;
where it was natural to protect yourself;
where the trivial was antiseptic.

I grow in my mind, and create my own misfortune.
I forget to be tired:
my brain is a cheap gadget that spins.
I journeyed to nuclear accidents
and pretended only snowmen melted.
I strive to hear the tales of the doltish
and forsake ideals that some consider pungent.
I do not blanch, even without notice,
clean ’round the mind, a melancholic manifestation.

**************************

Hear this on Sound Cloud

**************************

Written for:

Poetics – Where are You From?

Also posted on:


Poetry Pantry #250

Today, I wrote the poem for D’verse Poetry prompt by Mary with a theme of with a theme of “This is Where I am From.” .  It has a lot of strict rules to this. I hope I don’t get thrown off for not following all the rules: “begin with the words “I am from…”  and then go with the flow.  Try to use some interesting metaphors and some vivid imagery! Include words and sounds, smells and tastes, and sites.”

I think it will be fun to learn a bit more about each other in a unique sort of way.” I am very worried about this. I hope this is acceptable.

Image Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin © 2015 all rights reserved. Credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 28, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. I love this.. so many images when taken together creates a kaleidoscopic vision that somehow feel so much more real than a perfect picture.

    Two passages that especially caught my attention: a place where tea was clouded by milk
    and of course : pretended only snowmen melted.. very strong and vivid metaphors,

  2. Some memorable and strong images in your poem! And really have whetted my appetite to know more about ‘the journey to nuclear accidents.’ Perhaps we all, in a way, have a hand in creating our own misfortunes…this takes a perceptive person to recognize.

  3. You had me at the headpats and the tea clouded with milk. As for striving to hear the tales of the doltish… This is a fun, powerful, opinionated piece!

  4. Powerful! Especially loved the way you started your second stanza. Firm and determined piece this is.

  5. Ah.. yes.. ‘those’ minds are rather
    cheap gadgets that spin.. ah to
    go deeper than the spin..
    is a place where
    Bill O’Reilly
    never spends..
    i’m not seeing
    Yogi now with
    ‘eyes’ of Bill
    O’Reilly,
    as past
    or future
    is his life
    never
    now
    or
    NOT
    AS IT
    MIGHT ALL
    BE AN ADVANCED
    ACT OF ZEN EGO..;)

  6. Wow to the whole, but “I grow in my mind, and create my own misfortune” spoke to me the loudest 🙂
    (though I also liked the “polished round people”)

  7. I love the title, and can relate to it. I liked so many lines here, I can’t remember them all. I think this is a delightful read and love the way your words create a picture in my mind of a brave, well rounded person with convictions.

  8. Oh, no, I didn’t follow directions! I just jumped ahead and wrote.

    Thanks for coming by to visit.

  9. wow – wonderful work on metaphors here – the nuclear was my fav – pretending only snowmen melt… we tend to pretend a lot of things at times to protect us / or others

  10. Love this, so alive and honest! The audio adds a lot to it. I should have thought of that 🙂
    How did you set up the little soundcloud icon? I use SC also

  11. I think rules are made to be broken – this worked for me – and I too enjoyed the richness of it.

  12. “I am from a place where tea was clouded by milk;
    where it was natural to protect yourself;
    where the trivial was antiseptic.”
    How many of us hide behind the trivial to avoid the perils of reality? Great poem and title.

  13. I see someone strong being formed from unique circumstances. A very powerful write.

  14. A lot of striking imagery in your poem! Since the only people I know who drink tea with milk are British. Your poem made me wonder you had British origins in your lineage. Other lines hint at a dark and possibly dangerous past.

    • My Russian grandmother drank tea with milk. A bit dark. Not too dangerous, maybe relative to others, but not relative to awful. But I saw dangerous things.

  15. “I journeyed to nuclear accidents / and pretended only snowmen melted.” powerful and chilling…

  16. ten commandments to be taken senselessly…what a powerful indictment of paying lip-service to God’s laws, but not ever really taking them to heart. Powerful and poignant imagery!

  17. No need to be worried about this…..it far surpasses ‘acceptable’—it is stunning..the imagery is brilliant. I love the polished round people who are “obediently sober.” That just says SO MUCH!! And I agree with Bryan about that first line too. Wow. Powerful.

  18. I love the way you interpreted the prompt! I too liked “I am from a place where tea is clouded by milk.” A very poetic description.

  19. how we still prevail. strong images.

  20. Very powerful..so many images have mingled here to produce a uniform effect. You’ve beautifully weaved the words together… 🙂

  21. all the different hues………………

  22. The visual image is a perfect accompaniment for this whirl of places and out of places.

  23. A lot of depth and intensity hidden behind the verse…! Magnificent 😀
    xoxo

  24. Trying to make it easy for others would mean sacrifices one has to make. But it is worthwhile as they are just little irritations compared to the joys of fulfillment. Great lines Tammy!

    Hank

  25. Not only acceptable, this is wonderful!The title really grabbed me. I have a brain like that too, ha ha, when vertigo hits. I love the polished round people who were obediently sober – and the nuclear sites where you pretended only snowmen melt. Wow.

  26. This very clever piece made me think about the fact that our minds can wander aimlessly, filling and emptying without discernment unless we aim to control the thoughts that manifest there.

  27. imaginative and well written!

  28. A very interesting take on the prompt. Well written

  29. I love a poet who breaks the rules! The title is so wonderful. The moment that stood out for me was viewing the nuclear wreckage and pretending that only snowmen had melted. Speaks of self-preservation in the face of horror. I can understand that; in fact, it was my childhood.

    This is astonishing writing, very good stuff. Amy

  30. welcome to short story slam week 31 today.

  31. nice,
    hope all is well.
    your poetry ring musical.

Leave a comment