A Natural History of My Princess Bedroom


Ceiling Sculpture in Princess Anne's Bedroom

A Natural History of My Princess Bedroom

much imperial drama and subsidy
to aggrandize the flashy feel
of a royal bedroom
curtains the color of the sky
ballroom sized
fluer de lys habitat
den of decadent fashion
museum it is not

splendidly exposed, prestigiously lavish
spirit of crystal alchemy
mirrors leading into new dimensions
the hub of a mediocre kingdom
ceiling sculptures
with hidden cameras
haven for personal protection
fit for a princess and a half

*****************

Written for:

The assignment was  write a poem entitled “A Natural History of My (room)“, selecting whatever specific room you desired and given in a very personal sense. I chose to write about a princess’s bedroom. I do not have a princess’s bedroom. This is fiction.

Also written for: Imaginary Gardens

Open Link Monday – Calling all toads to the garden…

Photo credit:  Hiro and Haru’s Blog

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 1, 2012, in imaginary garden with real toads, Poetry, We Write Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Oh, Z, I am so disappointed to read this photo was not taken from your bedroom… ha ha.

    Can you imagine having to be a princess? I mean, what a drag, and you spelled out all the drawbacks well in your poem. Since they all come from accidental “royal” lineage, they no more need nor deserve cupids and all that crap in their homes… nor the undue attention paid them by the press! Nice write. Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/fred-weintraub-will-never-rest-in-peace-or-otherwise/

  2. Sounds like fiction to me. Fleur de lys not fluer de lis.

  3. How do you sleep at nights?
    A great New Year to you and yours.

  4. Because I believe you are a princess inside, your description of your bedroom is very appropriate. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Nice descriptions here, zongrik.

    Pamela

  6. This is every woman’s dream bedroom.

  7. That would be a nice view to wake up to ~

    Thanks for sharing this ~

    Happy New Year ~

    Heaven

  8. Oh that was a lovely moment of fantasy. Love the image too.

  9. All I could think of was having to dust that ceiling, or having to have someone else dust that ceiling.
    Oh, now I see the hidden camera. Surely the person doing the dusting could take care of that. LOL
    An enjoyable write!
    K

  10. Lavish vocab for a lavish room.

  11. A princess bedroom would be gorgeous for me I think. *wink*

  12. yikes, hidden cameras?

  13. Well Done, I love the inner introspection~

  14. elegant, you have incredible imagination.

  15. very good write,watch out for the cameras…….

  16. LOL I was waiting to read about the bed, the mattress and feeling the pea!
    Lovely read, very grandiose, fitting for a princess. 🙂

Leave a comment