in the plum-colored barn


Plum Colored Barn

in the plum-colored barn

the wind was a-drift, they did stop for a rest
(an expected loss in time, on this forced recess)
as they sat amongst shovels, in the plum-colored barn
the friends made strange stitches into some kind of  yarn
in no time the wool became wind-breaker type sweaters
woven with magical runes, symbols and strange letters
thus this secret cabal could progress on their trek
’til they’d needed soft scarves to warm up each neck

*************************

Written for:  The Sunday Whirl  Wordle 36

Also posted on:


The Thursday Think Tank # 81

Also posted on:

The Gooseberry Garden
Gooseberry Garden

Poetry Picnic Week 20: Fairytales, My First Time, Hope, and New Year’s Resolutions

Also posted on:

P is for People

Image Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin  © 2012 all rights reserved, credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Poetry, Poets United, Sunday Whirl, The Gooseberry Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. Oh, I love this. “woven with magical runes” Wonderful.

  2. Oh I like this one! It has some magic and mystery and even a plum coloured barn…Hehe

    Thanks for the comment on mine, Happy new Year!

  3. I like your yarn and your barn. I like your yarn about yarn in a barn. 🙂

    Okay, enough Suessifying. Fun poem and picture.

  4. I love the fairy tale feel you’ve woven into this! Nicely done!

    One Day at a Time

  5. Cute poem, zongrik 🙂

    Pamela

  6. New words here for me to look up “runes” I love that, enjoy gooseberry day!!!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/12/22/without/

  7. Do purple cows live in purple barns? A fun poem, zongrik!

  8. I adore this tale that you have woven. It is magical and wonderful. I imagine a circle of women , with skeins of colored yarn and intricate design on paper strewn at their feet, sipping from dark cups around a copper pot. It’s lovely. Happy New Year!
    xo,
    Noelle

  9. What a lovely scene you paint in the poem – I wish I could join them outside the plum coloured barn

  10. magicalmysticalteacher

    Lead me to that plum-colored barn, please, and knit me one of those scarves to warm my neck. Please? Ah, thank you!

  11. for some reason a plum-coloured barn takes our fancy – kind of like a yellow submarine, yes? a magical poem that draws one in with lovely bits of weaving and intrigue – I like the ending as well, leaving me wondering if the scarves will get made in time … I would think with a secret cabal – anything could happen

  12. I’m with the rest: there is something about a plum coloured barn that pulls at me. This was fun.

    margo

  13. “woven with magical runes, symbols and strange letters”

    I love that. And, I love the plum colored barn. Great tale.

  14. Love the use of the color “plum.” Made me feel strangely at harmony with barns and yarn 🙂

  15. I like this–concise and hints at a story. I also immediately thought of plum as a color. Happy New Year.

  16. What Margo said, plum colored barn!

  17. Definitely well wordled in a fun kind of way!!

  18. Oh, I really like the purple barn! Who could ever think of making scarves out of yarn in a purple barn? So great!

  19. Wonderfully crafted poem. Loved it.

  20. the purple barn is very elegant looking,

    what a charming entry,
    love your rich imaginations and superb creativity in our community,

    keep it up.

  21. yarn in a plum barn,sounds like a Beatles song.lol

  22. the color of purple makes me smile.

    Incredible imagery!
    Hope all is well,
    Appreciated your support along the way,
    Welcome sharing a random piece with us today,
    You rock.
    Keep it up.
    xoxox

  23. delightful post… magical yarns and plum-colored barn—straight from a storybook.

  24. A plumcoloured barn…! Hmmm …. beautiful!
    Have a great week.
    Wil, ABC Team

  25. Now I love that plumb colored barn, great yarn you spun too.

  26. That’s a plumb pretty purple barn you painted with your poetry.
    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  27. I see that you are a dramatic soprano and wonder if you sometimes set your poetry to music. Most enjoyable post. “Plum” bursts so satisfyingly from the lips 🙂

  28. Nice color for a barn.

    P is for Pizzaroni
    Rose, ABC Wednesday Team

Leave a comment