Black Tailed Fliers


Black-tailed Flyers

Black Tailed Fliers

Black tailed fliers semi-hover, thrust, retreat,
and fly backwards. Still facing their foes,
they swiftly assault. They strike and repeat.
Black tailed fliers semi-hover, thrust, retreat,
and flap flight patterns. Each bird knows
how to sustain and support a propelling wingbeat.
Black tailed fliers semi-hover, thrust, retreat,
and fly backwards, still, facing their foes.

*****************************

Written for:

Poetics: New view for you

Prompt, by @bmiller007, was to choose a picture from the dverse page and write a poem that reflected the picture. I chose to write one in Triolet form.

Photo credit: Tracey Grumbach

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 7, 2012, in Animal, Birds, Carry On Tuesday, D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Black tailed fliers semi-hover, thrust, retreat,
    and flap flight patterns…i just love it…tried to read it aloud…and my tongue is in knots…ha

  2. it would be interesting to see them flying backward…and makes me wonder too just what foe it is that they face…nice repetition, like the beat of wings…

  3. I love the repetition in this poem. As I read it aloud, I think I can really feel the beat of the flapping of wings!

  4. Yes… the form and repitition really adds to the rhythm of the poem. Really enjoyed it.

  5. I like the repetition going on here, reminding me of the circular flight patterns that birds follow in the winds. Nicely done.

  6. I agree the repetition is so vital to this piece….wonderful poem

  7. The sounds of the poem give it an authentic sound of birds in spring, building, preparing, protecting. They are amazing creatures and your capture of them here is novel and insistent. Really liked it.

  8. Nice energetic write…the form evokes the sounds and movements of the birds.

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.ca/2012/04/black-bird.html

  9. And what fighters they are too.
    Great piece Tammy!

  10. For some reason this made me think of Star Wars style tie-fighters. Enjoyed the visuals.

  11. They sound pretty great! Effective repetition! K.

  12. I like the sound of this: “Each bird knows how to sustain and support a propelling wingbeat”

  13. This is tightly drawn, the iterations are effective, and your diction is spot on. Great write.

  14. Neat triolet – enjoyed it – thank you

  15. Ooooh, how you played on repetition and rhythm on that one. I enjoyed the change in the comma in the last line. And how I couldn’t help thinking about military planes and what we heard on the news, somehow.

  16. You too write in 3D, I was visualizing some areo maneuvers happening with some air craft. your good.

  17. Form and matter are in perfect harmony here. Lovely.

  18. The repetition is nicely reflected in the poem, in the birds, and in the wing beats. I am honored you used my image for inspiration. Thank you for sharing and participating!

  19. I like this very much. You chose the perfect form for your message (and the photo). Beautiful wing beats!

  20. i like it! one of my favorite birds “tricksters”.great pic too.

  21. beautiful – you made hear those wings rustle and swip the white trails of thought

Leave a comment