street rubbish


These are my dogs Rudy and Parko. Both were dumped in the street. Rudy followed Hector and me home one day. Parko wandered the streets of LA until animal control picked him up one day. I adopted him from Bichon and Buddies. As many dogs in this world, both were dumped in the streets like…

street rubbish

chipmunks, rabbits
chasing the sun.
voraciously needy
in a love-free breeding ground.

stoned in an alley;
torn ears, battered muzzle.
the deepest wound
is not flesh-bound.

follow the footsteps of another tail  –
a home with no locks
a soft welcome mat.
no more exhaustive accusations.
no longer nameless.
a chance for healthy life.

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Posted for:

In Summer-y; Dog Days/Zucchini/Poetics

Photo credit:  Bat-Ami Gordin  © 2010 all rights reserved, credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on August 19, 2012, in Animal, D’verse Poets Pub, Dogs, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. I truly cannot imagine disposing of a dog by letting him/her run off in the streets. That idea breaks my heart. Both of your dogs are so lucky to have you, and you to have them. My last little guy came from the home of a dog hoarder who had MORE than 54 toy fox terriers (of all ages) on premesis (sp) until the authorities discovered this, got involved and took them to the animal shelter for adoption. Mine was one of the babies…these people weren’t selling, they were just breeding out of control. He is such a sweet dog!

  2. Aww darn it. My little dog in England was a rescue puppy from a Welsh puppy farm. They were throw outs because they’d cross bred Yorkies and Pomeranian, so they were left in old wrecks of cars and thrown chicken carcasses instead of proper food. She had digestive problems for her whole life because of it. I got her as soon as she was rescued and as the woman handed her trembling to me, she said: ‘There she is the little treasure’ and that’s what I named her, Treasure because she would always be treasured by me. I love your two Tammy, thank goodness for kind hearts who love animals as much as they ought to be loved.

  3. Sorry about the RA. Any constant pain, sucks.

  4. If they can mistreat a dog they’ll mistreat a child or elder. It shows a lack of empathy. A dog worships and lives to please you so to abandon in this manner is cruel. So an important theme for your poem

  5. I wondered who’d do the dog of the dog days! I have a bichon! (Pearl – you saw perhaps with the Zucchini.) They are such great dogs. Love the idea of following the footsteps of another tail – that line very funny though of course a serious poem. Thanks. k.

  6. thank you for being so kind as to take in these two lovely dogs. Bless you.

  7. “the deepest wound/is not flesh-bound.” So true. Good on you for adopting those dogs (all of the cats I’ve had as an adult have been rescues, too). And, it’s a great poem. Thank you.

  8. Nice… I especially like the hopeful ending.

  9. Our old dog, Dockers, was left in an alley with her sister when she was less than six weeks old. We adopted her, and she’s almost 17 now. She has been, and continues to be, a wonderful part of our life.
    Beautiful poem, Z!

  10. thank you for giving them a new lease on life…it hurts my heart to think of someone turning them out before….that deepest wound line as well is spot on…

  11. It bled my heart to see abandoned animals. Some kittens were just a few days old. Given a home it was such a joy to see them play in barely a few days. We’ve done that with stray kittens. It’s a blessings to rescue strays apparently. Nice you’ve done so. You would have been rewarded by now in many different ways and you may not have realized. Wonderful write Tammy!

    Hank

  12. Aww they are so cute…how could anyone leave them alone on the streets… they look so content and happy now in their loving home!

  13. Quite a number of people simply treat their pets as living toys. Surprisingly it seems they do not accord feelings to these animals which is why they seem to easily abandon them at the slightest bit of inconvenience. It’s heartless.

    Good on you for adopting dogs rescued from streets. All over the world, there are so many of these — dogs, cats, rabbits, etc.

  14. oh i’m so glad you gave them a new home…such a terrible thing when people just dump their pets on the streets… love the pics as well….the white one looks like k’s dog pearl

  15. my last cat, Jazz, was with me for seventeen years after being found at six-weeks-old on the front doorstep having many broken bones from someone kicking him. he was the most loving animal i’ve ever known.

  16. they’re both really adorable, the top picture, the way the one’s head is positioned is such a good picture. Really I’m a sucker for animal pictures 🙂 Their tale here, reminds me a lot about my cat who just passed away much too early. I found him in a garbage can in Virginia, and he was only 5 or 6 weeks old and some Asshole put a cigar out on his hip and tossed him in the trash. I can’t tell you how angry animal abuse makes me, neglect is a close second. Anytime I hear about someone who does what they can for animals in need, whether it be adoption or nursing back to health, or simply providing some milk and a bowl of dog/cat food, an appreciation for that person just fills me. So, needless to say, your poem here touched me. Love the opening stanza, showing that love has brought them to a good place, the deepest wound, that is so true. Great piece. Thanks

  17. I’m so glad that you saved your babies. This breaks my heart.

  18. Well, you got me with this one. We rescue our dogs, too. The last one, Sparky, I picked up from a rescue in Phelan, CA on my way home from the desert. He was wandering the street, too, in Kern County. (Papillion mix). A week before that, my husband picked up Zoe from Chico. She was left behind when her previous care-takers moved. She’s a deaf JRT mix. Our previous rescues all had their sad stories to tell. The first had heartworms. We treated her and she became my angel. She was a Golden mix. And then there was….ah, too many stories to tell. I wish we lived longer so I could look forward to rescuing more!

  19. It saddens me that so many people think of animals as disposal.

    They are not a paper napkins.

    What a good deed you have done!

    They look loveable and loving.

    Your poem was heart wrenching.

  20. This just tears at my heart but I’m so happy that you came along in their lives…little angels.. Such sweet faces.

  21. People who are cruel against animals are also cruel towards humans. Sometimes I think that humans are the most beastly creatures in this world( there are many exceptions, fortunately!)

  22. It is beyond me how people can dump pets on the side of the road. Thankfully there are people like you who will provide wonderful homes for a second chance at happiness.

  23. This poem choked me, stirred the emotional me. What lovely dogs. If they could talk, I’ve no doubt they’d be singing your praises! What a lucky find both ways!

  24. I’m glad your dogs found a happy home with you.

  25. Beautiful tale… tail? The line, “follow the footsteps of another tail,” like walking in another’s shoes, resonated with me. Growing up, all our pets were adopted or shelter pets… and all of Riley’s various cats were picked up at shelters. Your dogs are cute and very, very fortunate. The torn ears part broke my heart – there’s a feral cat with that feature wandering around here, oblivious to the “humane traps” we set to try and get it shelter and a home. Tammy, this was heartwarming and heartbreaking, too. Peace, Amy

    Diva Heart in Denial (Whirl, Trifecta)

  26. That was so good as is your furry friends,your not just an amazing “astro-poet”,your an amazing person too!

Leave a comment