Dear Brother


Grief stricken Hermione cradling Dobby

Dear Brother

If I were brave, I’d hide from
the gas, the bombs
and even the filthy sky.

But, instead, I sniff my water carefully.
I tune my ears to ultra high pitches
as the television pronounces
and the radio announces
and the smart-phone tickles my fingertips.

It may seem I’m rather helpless,
Dear Brother,
but don’t worry:
I’ll make sure they put a stone on your grave.

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Written for:

Poetics: The Art Of Rebellion

Photo credit:  Huw Evans Picture Agency  © 2009 all rights reserved.  Daily Mail — UK

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on September 1, 2012, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. Oh, this is truly heartbreaking!

  2. hey nice HP pic…i think the more informed we are the less helpless we are…and remembering those that pass, that is a high calling…hey good to see you…smiles…

  3. very, very strong and nice!

  4. oops–not nice–meant to say nicely crafted. Brain is not working with screaming children around me 🙂 sorry!

  5. Oh… that is really sad and yet, as Brian says, the more knowledge we have the more we are empowered. Strong writing Tammy,

  6. poemsofhateandhope

    Dear Brother…dear Big Brother? (this is how I read into it anyway!)…very interesting when we get into notions of control….and start to get into the mechanisms in place that we just might not know about…until we start to thing about them anyway….i hope i didn’t miss the point (i have a history of missing the point)

  7. Great closing. I always enjoy your rhyme/sound/word choice.

  8. So sad – so beautiful. Really very affecting.

  9. There is a feeling that information overload sometimes cultivates helplessness in some ways! But that stone on the grave is powerful revenge!

  10. I specially like the opening stanza…very poignant ~ Nice to see you ~

  11. Seems to me you’ve got a deep hurt…. but your writing is strong.

  12. Ooh – a very bitter poem – survival – laying low – can be difficult. k.

  13. oh dang…this is tough…helplessness is probably one of the worst feelings in the world

  14. Reminds me of Last Letters From Stalingrad which are supposed letters written by German soldiers knowing that this was the last thing they would write and the last words they could say to parents, wife’s, friends. They reveal character and final truth when all illusions about God, country and leaders are stripped away by hunger, killing, destruction and certain death. The letters got out of the city on the last plane but were impounded by Hitler so were never received. It’s likely these real letters are not the basis of the book, which are lets say imagined from the direct experience of a reporter who was in Stalingrad.

  15. There’s definitely a time, place and occasion for such an attitude!

  16. Sometimes we are up against so many things that it just didn’t seem fair. A sad and poignant take.Great write Tammy!

    Hank

  17. what a write. Kind of wish you wouldn’t have used that picture though-kept seeing dobby attacking malfoy, don’t know why- Lol A really strong piece. Excellent in all regards.

  18. This is beautiful and sad in the loveliest of ways. I feel like the more I read, the stronger it was. Well done!

  19. I was pulled into the gritty reality with the first sentence. Well done. Shalom.

  20. Sad and lovely and strong. You feel the defiance in the face of the obstacles, this will be done. Excellent write.

  21. So sad, but oh so beautiful at the same time. Great job!

  22. Wow.

    What powerful word crafting and imagery.

    This was seriously intense.

    And wonderful.

  23. Wow.. this is my favourite of yours to date, no contest. Cogent, strident poetry.

  24. so much emotion and sadness,stab the heart.wow,sorry it`s been so long.

Leave a comment