Not Alone


Charlotte Gainsbourg, AnOther

Charlotte Gainsbourg, AnOther

Not Alone

(The Week Michael Jackson Died)

From the four corners,
people observed
through grieving family eyes.
I was not alone.

Down the blood red carpet,
a golden casket
carried The King
popped
in his final act.

I’d sing to him.
I’d sing with him.
I’d cure him
of his instabilities
and self loathing.
But I’ll never meet him now.
I’ll never get to hold his hand;
to heal the world,
to save each creature
by his side.

I am not alone:
missing him,
his philanthropy ,
his unconditional, total love.

I flash YouTube
one song
after another;
sing them
with unlicensed
Karaoke lyrics.
The pain doesn’t stop.

I remember hours
of burning electricity —
spinning tunes
dancing just like him
or maybe dancing my own
chassé-Marimba-two-step.

I pull out the vinyls
and drop a tear
on every album sleeve.

I return to the world of today:
to neighbors,
to newscasts,
to blogs in Japanese .

Around me —
emotional schemas
of every variety;
and I realize,
I am not alone.

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Written for:

Magpie Tales – Mag 153

Also posted on:

OpenLinkNight ~ Week 81

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 27, 2013, in ABC wednesday, D’verse Poets Pub, Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. I think this, I have thought this, wanted to know why, wanted to heal; there have been many. Still, over the years, in their passing, they still come from time to time for visit. The door is always open……..thank you for this.

  2. Beautifully written with such a depth of emotion. I enjoyed where you went with this –

  3. nice…spinning the songs on youtube…music always carries such power…to take us there…and when someone is gone it can feel like ripping the scab off again and again as well…nice techno touches as well…smiles…i also like the realization int he end that you are not alone as well…

  4. Sadness – zinging the zongs of zongrik.

  5. Took me back to when John Lennon was killed.

  6. this took me back to when John Lennon was killed.

  7. Music connects the souls of us all, you paint that picture perfectly with your words here!

  8. Something dies in all of us when we lose such an influence. Then we realise the baton has been passed.and we have been relegated to observer status.

  9. I love your ‘modern’ poem about vinyl ! Great- and I too have a ‘Heavy’ first name so borrowing a bit of our married name is very welcome!

  10. Creates all sorts of memories….other times, other people. Bitter sweet memories.
    Thank you…interesting poem.☺

    • I was thinking about how music is such a common denominator…am not one to express myself verbally…especially when in distress…I never thought of utube or karaoke
      “I pull out the vinyls
      and drop a tear
      on every album sleeve.”
      That sentence is what got me thinking…
      and remembering how comforting being able to hold the albums
      in my hands was. And how my favorites surrounded me for a good nights
      sleep … not realizing back in the day, that it was the music that would sustain me.

      Thank you…♥

  11. What an emotional time this was. You captured it well.

  12. zinging the zongs…nicely done and thanks for sharing

  13. love the flow of emotions in this…it’s sad that he died so young.. a wonderful talent lost way too early…

  14. Oh, I know those were sad times. He left way too young with so many songs left unsung…your poem pays tribute to him nicely.

  15. There’s both a subtle irony and genuine sadness here – certainly the character speaking feels it. Very interesting portrait of her- k.

  16. a beautiful dedication… he was an often misunderstood and gifted person. I double checked my settings after your comment… word verification isn’t on, I turned it off quite some time ago and it still is off…. so that’s really weird that it popped up for you. Sorry… I don’t like word verification either… my eyes have such a hard time reading the “codes”

  17. “I am not alone.” !!!!!!!! also really liked these lines:
    “or maybe dancing my own
    chassé-Marimba-two-step.”
    strong emotion flowing through this tribute !!

  18. He was a wonderful entertainer.

  19. His music lives on and he will not be forgotten ~

  20. Well said. It’s sad to see someone with such talent lost to the world so tragically.

  21. Absolutely beautiful.

  22. Beautiful Words.
    Thanks for linking up.

  23. It was nice to hear the emotion of your voice in this tribute to Michael Jackson. A troubled, brilliant man…we will always be joined through his music.

  24. it is always a pleaure to hear you read tammy!
    as a lad i was obsessed with MJ’s music and moves . . .
    he had the IT, thats for sure!

  25. Heartfelt tribute to an icon gone..his music and personna lives…thru ur words…

  26. Great write, the music/ musicians we fall in love with have such a huge impact on our lives.

  27. A lovely poem – poignant and powerful.

  28. Wonderful tribute. Well written and one I relate to closely.

  29. What a lovely ode to The King of Pop. The specifics you mention make it clear you area true fan, not a band-wagon follower.

  30. This is sublime. I miss him too. And Lennon. And Donna Summer.

  31. The King is dead , long live the King !

  32. Very strong write with all the emotions of a Star dying.

  33. Found this link on GoodReads!:)
    great job, truly awesome:)

Leave a comment