Where Is the Food When Mother Is Not?


Yerka Jacek - Mind Fields Between Heaven and Hell

Yerka Jacek – Mind Fields Between Heaven and Hell

Where Is the Food When Mother Is Not?

Where is the food
when mother is not,
searching — plates and bowls
hit or miss? Open fridge.
Ransack cabinets.

I read a fairy tale,
that food grows ready:
creative cuisine,
not difficult to get:
a hundred people —
a hundred eggs.

Without Mom, a sudden collapses?
Everywhere needs an eye —
Or the glassware might fall:
a place to cry
a place to laugh.

Here’s Mom.
The harvest
we will collect.
Enthusiastic cheers.
The smell goes down the hall.

I shall help.
Always help.
Help in the kitchen.

Yes, Mom is back.
Heat up the pot.
No more stale, old
Piss-water tea.
Take a broom and dustpan.
Sweep up confusion.

The cold kitchen
will soon be warm.

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Written for:

Magpie Tales – Mag 162

Also posted on:

OpenLinkNight ~ Week 98

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 2, 2013, in D’verse Poets Pub, Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 52 Comments.

  1. beautiful Tammy… amazing though, when I could not go down into the kitchen to prepare meals, my husband and daughters learned how:-) Blessings on this the 8th day of counting the omer.

  2. Love this, Tammy, and how well it fits the image. God bless mothers.

  3. Wonderful! Kitchens seem ill-equipped without a Mom or in my case, a grandma. Fortunately, Mom/Grandma taught me how to follow her footsteps. Even the memory of Mom is enough to fill the plates and bellies.

  4. Yes, God bless mothers, because dads certainly can’t figure it out (at least not in my hourse…)

  5. Whoops–that is supposed to be house.

  6. Yeah mothers sure know how to to cook away, the microwave is a friend at my bay haha

  7. Beautiful! I know exactly what you mean!

  8. What is a kitchen without mother preparing the meal, a harvest for the family ~ Good one ~

  9. smiles…i remember growing up with mom in the kitchen and her letting us help out…and my boys are the same with my wife…

  10. My mom was actually a bad cook which inspired me to become a better cook than her ! Now with my Korean wife as my sous chef, together we concoct awesome dinners nightly!! especially out of leftovers!! Like tonight for example: fried black bean tofu appetizers, then seafood pasta sauce with salmon, chopped clams,oyster mushrooms,yellow squash,red pepper, onions,garlic, jalapeno pepper, homemade chicken broth, white wine,soy sauce,butter,parmesan& romano cheese over angel hair pasta !!! I used to have a farm in Vermont, raised partridge,chickens,ducks,pigs, plus fish farming !!! That is where I perfected my cooking skills !! Making maple syrup and fogging up all the windows in the house was a yearly ritual !!
    “I shall help.
    Always help.
    Help in the kitchen.” I can sooo easily rally behind this !! Your content has brought back some interesting memories for me !! Thanks for sharing!!

    • That was some powerful comment. The fried tofu appetizer, yellow squash and the oyster mushrooms sound great. I’m so glad this had such a powerful impact on you.

  11. I loved hearing you read this…very meaningful listening to the words read.
    Did I tell you that I got a small amplifier just so I could hear you read ? That way
    I catch each word.
    Peace
    Siggi

  12. The kitchen is the heart of the household, and the mother keeps it all going.

  13. Awesome! I’ve often felt this when my mother was gone (I’m not that of a cook). Hehe. Made me giggle!

  14. Mom can make ANY cold kitchen warm. And those smells coming down the hall…..are definitely worth anticipating!

  15. Ah yes, Mom makes it right! What would we do without her?

  16. Very charming! And usually pretty right! Thanks. k.

  17. The kitchen is definitely my mom’s domain.

  18. Hey! 🙂

    Love the sense of the title and the reading is up-there-lively and exactly how i had imagined it to sound, the same in my head as i read . . . proper whizz!!! 🙂

  19. Oh do not quite see my own mother there. Had to learn to cook myself 😉

    But love the read

  20. I like the disorder and the sort of direness in tone — as if these people can’t survive without Mom there to figure things out and cook for them. The form really works, too.

  21. nice…the soul of the kitchen is always a person…and a warm kitchen with some nice lunch or dinner on the stove is so comforting

  22. I know what happens when this mum’s not in the kitchen to cook…take out that’s what happens… 😉

  23. Being given the bowl of cake mixture to lick out – a favourite thought of the kitchen when I was young!

  24. Yeah, throw out that “piss-water tea”! Made me smile

  25. It’s true! Mom flavors food like salt, pepper, and herbs cannot! Love this…and the artwork is great. Love the cat…midst the clutter 🙂

  26. Love it..I often think of my mum and wish she was still around 🙂

    Have a great week

  27. Bucutăria-i rece până vine mama, dar la mine mama nu mai vine.Deci bucătăria va rămâne rece tot timpul.
    Să ai o zi liniştită.

  28. Gday Zong ‘ , what wonderful associations you have with all things culinary !

  29. Luckily in our house both my husband and I make meals. 🙂

  30. I absolutely love this…beautiful poem!

  31. most amazing job being a mother

  32. Being a mom to five…I agree, moms make a wonderful warmth to the home when they do their job.

  33. Thanks goodness for good women! This is universal, the theme of mothers managing their families, households, lives.

  34. I so love this one! Moms certainly know how to use the kitchen to nourish their families!

  35. Well thought-out and well written…

  36. I listened to your poem on chirbit. I thought it was excellent. Well done.

  37. LOL…. I have had piss water tea many times. Today was one of those days.

  38. I have gone to great lengths to make sure that both my children can cook and that neither of them believe a Mothers place is in the kitchen. if it works for you and that is your choice then yay but I do not want my daughter or my son growing up believing that that is the natural order of things.

    Mollyxxx

  39. I had 4 wonderful teachers my mom, 2 aunts and my grandmother, and a harvest of foods was made a plenty when it was meal time on Holidays!

  40. Moms make kitchens warm and right- very true. really enjoyed this thanks!

  41. Wonderful tribute to mothers! They are indeed special.

  42. I love this!

    Thanks for stopping by and for linking up!

  43. One can never feel secure without mothers around. The trouble is that many never realise this and continue to hurt their mothers’ feelings! Nicely Tammy!

    Hank

  44. … and that’s the truth!!

  45. Moms rock. Although I rock a little less in the kitchen…

    😉

  46. Some truly nice and utilitarian info on this internet site, besides I believe the style has great features.

Leave a comment