Coexist Sticker


Coexist Sticker

This sticker’s on an automobile.
It has a dream that’s unattainable.
Yes, it’s a very vain appeal.

Who’s out there seeking for an ideal,
when gods are unexplainable?
That sticker on any automobile

is a sarcastic way to conceal
a peace that is not sustainable.
I tell you, it’s a vain appeal.

The concept has a tendency to reel
you in. You think it is explainable?
The sticker found on some automobile

attracts attention with its pretty teal
color. But it’s not obtainable.
Coexistence is nothing but ordeal.

Don’t put away your sword of steel.
Soldiers, you are strong and trainable.
All those stickers on a junked automobile
are nothing but some vain appeal.

**************************

Written for:


Dverse Poetics “Bumper to Bumper” –

challenge, that is to write a poem about a bumper sticker, or about bumper stickers in general.

Also posted on:

and for:

Also posted on:

The Gooseberry Garden
Poetry Picnic Week 37: Peace in Love, Peace in Families,
Peace Among Friends, and Peace Around The World…

Also posted on:

C is for CATS !

I kinda chose to put up my cynical view of how people of diverse religions can’t really love one another.
For those who don’t recognize this, it’s a villanelle.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on October 8, 2011, in ABC wednesday, Carry On Tuesday, D’verse Poets Pub, One Single Impression, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. RYN: I’m not in the USA. I live in Canada and in the Province where we live, it’s allowed.
    I think your example is an ideal of a perfect world, to co-exist in peace but it’s not about to happen anytime soon, but, the world would be so dark and dreary if we couldn’t hold onto our dreams, and the hope in those dreams becoming our reality is often what keeps us going.

    • yeah, you have a good point, about hope. but religions have been fighting for millennia, and they won’t stop. a new paradigm must exist before peace and coexistence can prevail.

  2. You have a good point and voice it well. It’s a sad truth about the world we live in today (which seems to be getting worse daily).

  3. sometimes it’s just good not to stop dreaming…and even if we don’t manage to change things quickly, we should never stop trying..

  4. it would take a small miracle…which might require the gods to come first in their own coexistence…smiles. we can hope though…

  5. It’s definitely a worthy goal, and maybe even an attainable one, but only when none of those symbols mean what they do now, because they are mutually exclusive. So we have a bit of a wait, I think.

  6. Coexstence probably will not happen for all; but I think it is better thanit used to be. We can’t stop trying or we would do backsliding, which would be worse than the status quo. Hope is the answer.

  7. I used the same one, Bat-Ami. I come from a different point of view but strongly believe that it is up to each of us to work towards and ideal. It’s a journey for me…I’m not there yet, for sure.

  8. at the end of Planet earths existence, it will be shone there was never a religion to begin with..

    i hope in my children’s lifetime they will find a more religiously tolerant planet.. we are all of one sphere..the universe.

    well done here!!

  9. I’m with Victoria, as an optimist I have to work toward something but I see your point. I don’t have any bumper stickers.

  10. great villanelle. Is it impossible?

  11. Very very well done. Terrible situation.

  12. beautiful thinking,

    God bless.

    🙂

  13. It’s difficult for people of different views to get along, simply because of the usual mentally of defining what’s really right and really wrong, and that others should go along with one or else. There are some things that can’t coexist simply because they are internally made to accept nothing else. Can we all simply drop it all though? Interesting thoughts from your poem.

  14. Yes, I don’t understand why we have to be so mean to those we disagree with. But, I know I’ve been guilty of being irritated with those who think differently than I do. Sometimes I don’t even realize how much I’m doing it. Thought-provoking, and I hope it can at least get better.

  15. Good and a nice villanelle, very difficult form to make smooth in flow. It seems several liked the coexist bumper sticker for this prompt.

    Beth

  16. this is my favorite bumper sticker and it does have a nice teal color – you are right (smiles.) I like the form you used here – unlike the bumper sticker, it has an effective appeal 😉

  17. there are some great examples of different people coexisting in some impressive ways. and there are examples of the opposite. religion is a scourge on the earth is some large ways, but it’s nothing compared to money and greed.
    i like the write, the pace was addictive:)

    • but ALL religions are based on someone’s greed for power, and they all collect money to sustain themselves. so religion has the elements of money and greed, plus other elements of control and power. religions are dangerous, to say the least.

  18. Thanks for dropping by Whitesnakes Post for COT!
    The recipe :-
    http://kbandwhitesnakeshome.blogspot.com/2011/10/simply-delish-chicken-with-pine-nut.html

    This was well thought out!

  19. “Cry Havoc and let slip the dogs of war” Shakespeare in the play Juilus Caesar

  20. Interesting sticker and it appeals for the hard uphill task!! Nothing is impossible if there is a start!! Wonder where it could be!

  21. You did a lovely job with the villanelle!

  22. I agree with you. I believe this segregation prevents us from loving one another. Excellent villanelle!

  23. Sometimes I’m just a wacky optimist, but I see your point.
    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  24. You hit the nail on the head with that one. We won’t go into why what the sticker preaches is totally unobtainable, however, it is good to dream…..

  25. Z, I actually have that button, along with other “cause” buttons (LGBTQ Ally, Peace, etc.) on my bag. This is cynical, but in an interesting way… your question seems rhetorical. I believe there IS a chance. In fact, I believe if we don’t find a way to coexist, not just in religion, but in politics, the environment, etc., our time will be over soon, and that would suck, because I’d miss your blog.

    You know me, Christian and all, but wide open and embracing of all faiths and agnostics and atheists as well. We need to concentrate on LOVE. Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/07/31/canvas-wwp-abc-poets-united/

  26. Perhaps not in this lifetime-if ever. I can only practice it in my world, but to impose it on others would seem to be a contradiction. Even if it doesn’t seem possible, I do believe…

  27. Such a clever choice Zongrik! Catching up with ABC.

    C is for…
    Rose, ABC Wednesday Team

    PS.. COMMENTS makes me happy!

  28. you’re really a just right webmaster. The site loading pace is amazing. It seems that you’re
    doing any distinctive trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece.

    you’ve done a excellent job in this matter!

Leave a Reply

