Georgeson Island


Incomparable View by: Terrel Welch

Georgeson Island

Waters calm.
Skies on fire.
Observe.

Public park.
Private scene.
Create.

Early summer.
Evening sun.
Paint.

Transitory break.
Solitary island.
Meditate.

Incomparable view.
Fleeting moment.
Capture.

************************

Posted for:

OpenLinkNight ~ Week 37

One of my Twitter friends TERRILL WELCH photographed the above photo. Last time, I wrote a poem about one of her paintings,Henderson Hill, this time, for this particular photo.

Terrill thinks the best link for this poem might be:

http://www.redbubble.com/people/terrillwelch/art/7473140-georgeson-island

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on July 21, 2011, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. I like this poem very much…from the image to the cadence of the words.

    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. Beautimus picture and I would some how make sure I had a boat load of paper with me on that Island. Would love to see what kind of poems God would bring outta me while there. Very nicely written. Thanks for sharing.
    Claysong

  3. nice…wonder at the placement of meditate in the flow…coming after create and paint…

  4. Joanne Elliott aka soulsprite

    Lovely. I like your depiction of place and the creation process.
    Thank you telling me about it via Twitter. I’m @ThePoetryCabin. My personl Twitter is @soulsprite.

  5. took some time to get past the awsome picture,such a great write on time still,yet in movement.

  6. Beautiful poem
    -Like walking
    Meditation

  7. The simplicity of your lines captures the feel of the photo (and I assume the place) really well. Really nice writing.

  8. love the way you’ve captured this photo’s gorgeous beauty in a very succinct style. beautiful.

  9. Nice, Tammy! You really have “captured” the image with your words and have finished it brilliantly…sometimes I still get surprised with how effective simply selecting those key words can be. Wonderful weave!

  10. Nature and art seem continuous, exchangeable here. One informing the other. Your careful choice of words convey the ethereal emotion of an experience. Beautiful.

  11. wow…very unusual voice for you…serene…i like

  12. Your words are as soothing as the photograph

  13. “Transitory break.
    Solitary island.
    Meditate.” – I’ll take that!

  14. nice…it looks like a great place to meditate…and on a single island…no man is an island but in it you can find serenity…

  15. I like the linking nature and repetition of each grouping, Tammy. Each stands on its own as a descriptive and emotional entity. Very cool and very in keeping with that stunning photo.

  16. WOW…. this is AWESOME!…. the grouping of each set of words … the last line of each stanza… THIS IS BRILLIANT. Says so much in so few words!

  17. Nicely hatched, Tammy! The verse and the descriptions make me want to visit the island.

    Hank

  18. An uncountable number of trees on that tiny blob of land–gorgeous pic, concise poem.

  19. I liked the poem! clean, simple and powerfull. Thanks for coming by…

    Wander

  20. Really love it when so much is said in so few words….it’s a special gift, and you have it!

  21. Hey Tammy, your words fit perfectly with the photo. Love the contrasts.

  22. Tammy/Bat-Ami,
    Such a beautiful poem. Your outlook is much more optimistic than mine! Thanks for posting a comment on my blog. Peace to you, sister, Amy

  23. I’ll take an order of this:

    “Transitory break.
    Solitary island.
    Meditate.”

  24. Wonderfully compact, like the little island. K.

  25. Love the structure here…as if giving directions to yourself. Very nice!

    • Oh. Didn’t see it as giving directions to self. But I like that. I love it when people see something I never saw. Gives it a whole new feel. Thnx soooo much. 🙂

  26. I love poems that say a lot with economy of words. Beautiful.

  27. Gorgeous cascade of verses

  28. I liked the calmness in this. Love the imagery.
    Thanks for the read =)

  29. my favourite piece ive read of yours i think!- you just have this style- this way of putting the sort lines together to make something magical-

    Incomparable view.
    Fleeting moment.
    Capture.

    Its in moments like this i THINK about this- if that makes any sense at all

  30. Both poem and image beautiful and serene. Enjoyed reading this very much!

  31. Simplicity is a beautiful thing.

    Very nicely done.

  32. I agree with everyone here, what an image this is.

  33. Lovely, this one made me smile. 🙂

  34. This was wonderfully written. Simple and descriptive. Great photo as well.

Leave a comment