suffocated reflection


Reflections

suffocated reflection

tortured self-portrait
suffocated reflection

poignantly decorated
desolation and regret

cultivated condensation
impressive procrastination

informal ingenuity
rhetorical apprehension

marked musical measures
meolodious sylvan clank

*****************************

Written for:

Patterns, Pictures and Poems

Photo credit: James Rainsford 

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on March 24, 2012, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. ugh…you def put a lot of hard feeling into the picture…nice word pairings to create that feel as well…the clank at the end rings hollow…

  2. “marked musical measures
    meolodious sylvan clank” – it rolls off the tongue, fascinating!

  3. This hits home. Yes, right to the hollow ‘clank’

  4. Wow! Impressive AND poignant. And yes, the clank. You have nailed so much here.

  5. Some great word choices, here, Bat-Ami. I like the pairings, the couplets.

  6. I also love the word choice in this, so much packed into so few words!

  7. Ditto to what everyone’s already said… I especially like the clank.

  8. Tortured Self Portrait Suffocated Reflection … now that is something I can relate to … sigh 🙂

  9. I’am sorry I missed you. this is some deep. ….I ditto with the relating bit.

  10. some awesome word choices here! love how you put this together! 🙂

  11. I don’t know that the clank makes this go so much as the way you condense all to a hollow resounding of words that simply seem to lose all meaning. I mean that in the best possible way. For, as a response to the photo, the hollowness of the poem’s words echo the supposed hollowness of the person in the photo seeking some form of solace from a life of despair.

  12. This brought to my mind Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror, the way we all see ourselves in a distorted manner. Your poem employs an expansive depth which continues to unfold in my mind.

  13. Duality in each pair, much like the duality of the image–and the darkness around the edge crowding the reflections.

  14. Love the rhythm of this. Goes well with a determined stride in the park.

  15. Melodious sylvan clank is wonderful (as is rest.) K.

  16. some heavy heavy word play.

  17. I picked up an element of torment in the figure. You are the first I’ve read who mentions it. Great response to the prompt.

  18. I love the great economy of language in this. You’ve managed to convey the isolation and tension in the photo with a few well chosen juxtapositions. Brilliant!

  19. suffocated reflections…you put him on a very lonely walk here…but could be he is…

  20. The first four lines sure jump out at me. Ouch.

  21. “Melodious sylvan clank.” (Typo there, but my favorite phrase…) Marvelous phrasing and pace, and it packs a punch. Well done, my friend! Amy
    Missed Mr. Linky by 17 min, but here’s mine: http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/03/25/california-dreamer-dverse/

Leave a comment