congregating tribes


Brides and grooms arrive at a mass marriage ceremony at Bahirkhand village, north of Kolkata Feb 6, 2011.

congregating tribes

the tribes had met
they congregated every spring
the tribes had met
they ventured there despite the threat
to trade and barter everything
to marry off and seal with ring
the tribes had met

*****************

This Rondelet was written for:

The assignment was  write a poem about congregate.

Also written for:


Prompt: Tribe

Also posted on:

The Gooseberry Garden
Gooseberry Garden

Poetry Picnic Week 22: Spring, Colors, Trees, and New Lives

The Rondelet form is:

– – – A
– – – – – – – b
– – – A
– – – – – – – a
– – – – – – – b
– – – – – – – b
– – – A

Photo credit:  China Daily

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 15, 2012, in http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/, Poetry, Sunday Scribblings, We Write Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. The powerful rhythm made me think of a tribal heart beat..dancing..in unison..great write..Jae

  2. Very nice!

  3. Love the simplicity of this and thanks for the rondolet instructions! I always love learning new poetic forms.

  4. I always love coming here because you surprise me (in a good way)! I’m not good with form, or actually, I just make up my own, so seeing you do this is wonderful.

  5. Very interesting…

  6. Really nice!! I love that picture too 🙂 Smiles, Terri

  7. lovely chant Zongrik – well done!

  8. Amazing piece. Thank you!

  9. I really like this piece!

  10. You’re spreading your wings..and trying new forms, and most successfully…I like this alot!

  11. Nicely done. Haven’t tried a rondelet. Yet.

  12. As I read this I have many words between those lines… eagerly wondering what else is in the story…

    You have left me in a mystery 🙂

    ~L

  13. i agree with joe, there is a beat to your words that almost chant in a way and is perfect for the piece. you did a fine job with this form. nicely done!!

    my latest:
    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/shine-eternal/

  14. simple lines, it contains remarkable stuff in it, some unsaid yet for readers to dig.

    great entry,

  15. Very good rondelet and all in good form too! 🙂 I appreciate learning about and reading all the new (or at least ‘new to me’) types of forms and poetry you share on your blog. Once again, nice work!

  16. Married off and ready to start a new tribe. Beautiful. I love the image.

  17. Great use of the form!

  18. Very nice! I love the form and the rhyme scheme you came up with. My favorite line was: “they ventured there despite the threat.” Shows great courage. Peace, Linda

  19. wonderful use of form. K.

  20. Yes… lovely incantation within these lines!

  21. cute verse,

    well done, thanks for sharing and waiting, smiles.

    Happy Weekend.

  22. As a card-carrying member of the Poetic-Forms Tribe, I love that you used a form – and did so wonderfully! A terrific verse. ☼

  23. very nice and great pic to match the matchs.

Leave a comment