Evaporate until you Lenticulate


Julius Caesar's Death

Julius Caesar’s Death

Evaporate until you Lenticulate

Don’t blubber and philosophize
in the act of pantomime.
Don’t blare and trumpet platitudes
as you premeditate tyrannicide.
Don’t pillage and falsify,
disrupt activity,
as you fanaticize,
and build public opinion on premises.
Don’t biodegrade and evaporate
until you lenticulate
into vaporous aloofness.
If you pillage all those
to whom you relate,
you will never erase despair,
but will fishtail
down the highway
and slip on glass
that penetrates brain cells.

**************************

Hear this on Sound Cloud

**************************

Written for:

Hello-ing and Good-bying, Sort of.

Today, I wrote the poem for D’verse Poetry prompt by Victoria to write a poem incorporating a rich use of verbs. Because this week was the Ides of March I thought I’d write something about what Julius Caesar should have been aware.

Also posted on:


Poetry Pantry #244

Image credits: Biography.com Julius Caesar Biography

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on March 19, 2015, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry, Poetry Blog Roll, Poets United and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. Excellent and forceful wording here. I feel like saying, “That’s telling them!” (Smiles) Your words really roll off my tongue. I like ‘premeditate tyrannicide.’ a lot.

  2. oh i knew that your choice of verbs would be delightful…and it is.. smiles

  3. So forceful! Yeah, that will tell them! The words are like they are being punched into the air – great action.

  4. this is fun and sexy, lenticulate don’t think what I think it means

    • verb (used with object), lenticulated, lenticulating. Photography
      1.
      to impress lenticules on the surface of (film). ( lenticules are tiny corrugations or grooves molded or embossed into the surface of a projection screen)

      However, I used it my own way. I was thinking of Lenticular clouds which are stationary lens-shaped clouds that form in the troposphere, normally in perpendicular alignment to the wind direction. Pilots of powered aircraft tend to avoid flying near lenticular clouds because of the turbulence of the rotor systems that accompany them.
      So basically, I was thinking that all these emotions are turned into puffs of clouds that cause turbulence.
      So either way, the photography way, or the cloud way it’s causing disturbances.

  5. You have a wonderful collection of verbs, but even more you have a strong message against those coward plunderer that fill our world..

  6. Yes.. words.. words.. words.. actions.. verbs.. nouns.. things.. i think i’ll stop talking and dance instead!..:)

  7. Take heed, politicians… : )

  8. I specially admire how you used fishtail as a verb —Enjoyed this one ~

  9. I thought of lenticular clouds, too, which are abundant in Nevada. But so many great verbs in this, Tammi, and not only that, they are so fun to articulate–they feel good on the tongue.

  10. Ah yes, a poem to be recited aloud, by you, by us, in the shower or on a bus; very creative take on the prompt, with imaginative muscular verbs. Love to hear the author read their own work.

  11. Oh my, a vocab lesson!!

  12. Beware the ides of March, indeed. Loved the forcefulness of this – very strong poem

  13. There are some awesome verbs here. “Fishtail” is my favorite. 🙂

  14. I’m keen to commit tyrannicide, if only I knew how! Some terrific verbs here.

  15. Beware. Sorry, I had to say that. I too enjoyed your clever verbing and generally witty wordplay.

  16. Action packed! Brilliant poem!

  17. Ha..this is great..love the whole pillage thing and all the verbs you chose. It resembles our political system, doesn’t it?

  18. An excellent Ides of March poem. the Caesar’s of this current age don’t realize there is always another “fool” to replace them.

  19. Wow, you certainly rose to the challenge of the prompt – such rich verbiage. I need to slow down and read it with a dictionary! That is really clever wordplay.

  20. Well… Take that! clap-clap-clap 🙂

  21. Kerry O'Connor

    Wow! This is a very powerful piece. The verbs are strongly felt throughout.

  22. Powerfully put!

    Poppy

  23. Some interesting and powerful verbs – a great write.

  24. Definitely lots of interesting verbs here. It was a pleasure to read.

  25. powerful plea to the world with powerful words

  26. What a clever use of words. And how nice to remember the ides of March. Enjoyed reading this!

  27. what an aura of strength!!

  28. What a feast of words – i sensed a wryness which i enjoyed!

  29. The wry smile fits to the scene, and thank you for new word for me: lanticulated…

  30. Wow! This is adorable. Thank you for stretching my mind over here. And yeah.. poor Caesar, he met such tragic end. Great job on the verbs!

  31. A very interesting poem. I find layers in some of the meanings.

  32. Rich use of verbs indeed! I love your word choices here…the title is exceptionally wonderful too 🙂

  33. I love the music in this, the way it falls from the lips… great use of phrase and form.

Leave a comment